120/208v Coffee Maker Hook-up ? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-25-2010, 06:22 PM   #16
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy-n-ATL View Post
Gotcha. I should amend that it has a hot water faucet as well, which INHO would qualify it as a continous load correct?
Not at all. It only heats the water when it needs to.
I don't think this is what the intent of the code is when it refers to "A fixed storage-type water heater "
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2010, 06:41 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Thanks SP. I'll pipe 2 hots, a neutral and a ground over (#10) and go with a l14-30 twistlock. Any recommendations on the cord?
Andy-n-ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2010, 07:20 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Never mind 10/3 SO cord.
Andy-n-ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2010, 08:04 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy-n-ATL View Post
Never mind 10/3 SO cord.
Actually cord would be 10/4.

Cord counts the ground as a conductor. Cable does not.

10/4SO and 10/3NM have the same number of conductors.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 08:13 PM   #20
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,910
Rewards Points: 80
Default


The cord has to be 10/4.

Also, it doesn't matter if the load is continuous or not, it matters if there is more than one receptacle. See 210.23, and 210.21 (B) (1) and (3). Read them very carefully, it's sort of confusing.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 09:00 PM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Double-check your supply voltage. If the coffee machine is rated only for 120/208, and your supply is 120/240 you may have problems burning out the heating element(s).

Many machines that are designed specifically for convenience stores that operate on 208Y/120 3 phase supply can not be used with a single phase 120/240 volt supply unless the nameplate specifies the higher system voltage.

If your church also has 208Y/120 3 phase supply, then you should be fine.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 09:25 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


It must be like one of these

"Makes 480 cups per hour. Dispense single or double espresso, 1 or 2 cups at a time, or choose continuous flow. Auto cleaning function flushes the line to the brew head. . Specs: Dimensions: 28 3/8"W x 21 1/2"H x 21 9/16"D. Number Of Heads: 2 Group. Boiler Capacity: 13 qt. Power: 240V, 4.7KW, 20A."
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 04:16 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default


The church is 120/208. I think the thing weighs 50 lbs or so and will have to be plumbed as well. It's gonna crank out the coffee, 16 gal/ hour
Andy-n-ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 07:36 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default


It went in slick as can be. Was a little distressed when I realized piping it all the way was gonna be treacherous (darn phone equipment) and the supply house just wanted $310.00 plus tax for a 250' roll of 10/3 mc of which I needed about 12 feet. An electrician in the supply house stepped up to the plate when he saw me whining and threw me some for free. Now just waiting on a plumber (tapping foot).
Andy-n-ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hook up ice maker line. already have a valve on the floor behind fridge but...3/8" bakchoi Plumbing 5 11-25-2008 06:59 AM
Ice Maker Not Getting Water sgorak General DIY Discussions 3 10-27-2008 08:02 PM
Kenmore ice maker acting strange BJLower Appliances 3 10-24-2008 11:14 PM
Ice Maker problem. sflamedic Appliances 5 08-25-2008 05:28 AM
Can I pipe my ice maker off my RO unit? Leah Frances Plumbing 10 04-24-2008 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts