12/3 Wire Feed Outlets? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-06-2010, 06:48 PM   #1
walt1122
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: coalmont, Tennessee
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 446
Default

12/3 wire feed outlets?


Hi All, Putting outlets in the basement. Small room under the porch is "L" shaped maybe 35 X 25 by 7.5 feet wide. Superior Walls so one side is solid concrete while the other is set up for electric wire and sheetrock. I had all this 12/3 wire around so I thought I would run all the outlets down the easy side and not cut thru the conctete to put in a few outlets. I have no heating set up so I want to use electric space heaters. So between the heaters, a TV, some sundry items, treadmill and who knows what I wanted to be sure I had enought electric so started to use the 12/3 thinking I could alternate outlets one black hot, then one red hot etc. Can I share the white neutral? Is this legit. Plan on putting on 20A double pole 240V.

thanks

Walt
walt1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2010, 06:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default


Too much splicing for me.Spend $96 on a roll of 12-2 nm.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
walt1122 (12-06-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2010, 07:01 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,824
Rewards Points: 23,990
Blog Entries: 11
Default


You can do as you want. The neutrals need to be pigtailed to the receptacles so that removing a receptacle does not break the neutral .

You you mention some things that need addressing.
1. Treadmills usually need a 20 amp circuit just for themselves.
2. Small heaters might be OK on the circuit but I would not put them on the same circuit as your electronics.
3. As living space all these receptacles need to be AFCI.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
walt1122 (12-06-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2010, 07:15 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by walt1122 View Post
Hi All, Putting outlets in the basement. Small room under the porch is "L" shaped maybe 35 X 25 by 7.5 feet wide. Superior Walls so one side is solid concrete while the other is set up for electric wire and sheetrock. I had all this 12/3 wire around so I thought I would run all the outlets down the easy side and not cut thru the conctete to put in a few outlets. I have no heating set up so I want to use electric space heaters. So between the heaters, a TV, some sundry items, treadmill and who knows what I wanted to be sure I had enought electric so started to use the 12/3 thinking I could alternate outlets one black hot, then one red hot etc. Can I share the white neutral? Is this legit. Plan on putting on 20A double pole 240V.

thanks

Walt
You don't really say how many outlet you want but I don't think I would put heaters and electronics together. Heaters can draw a alot. I think I would just get some 12-2 but if you want to use you 12-3 I would run one leg to the treadmill and the other leg to your electronics and then just buy enough 12-2 to run a third for your heat.

The other thing you could do, even though I don't think I would. You could run the heat off the treadmill circuit when the treadmill is not in use. Basically you would only be able to use one at a time. When your run, unplug the heater and when the heater is on, don't run the treadmill. The other thing is that you could just wait until you get bored with the treadmill and sell it like %95 of people do, then you can use the outlet for the heater exclusively.
sbfan2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 12:18 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,162
Rewards Points: 968
Default


You will also need receptacles along the concrete wall to meet code.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 02:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 285
Rewards Points: 459
Default


Not an electrician, but this brings to mind: "Wouldn't you potentially be returning up to 40 amps through the single 12ga neutral wire?"
Nick DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 02:44 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default


...No...
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
walt1122 (12-09-2010)
Old 12-07-2010, 04:52 PM   #8
walt1122
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: coalmont, Tennessee
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 446
Default


Hi all, thanks Nick DIY that is what I was concerned about and prompted me to ask the question in the first place.

Can I share the white neutral? Is this legit. Plan on putting on 20A double pole 240V.

So that issue and the other one thinking I could get away with not having to put in the outlets on the concrete side.

Jbfan is it code even if the the room is only 7 1/2 feet wide.? If so then both of these issues will be a problem. Guess I will have rethink this and might just have to buy the 12/2 afterall. Don't feel like having to cut thru 2 inches of concrete, having to run emt or put up a false wall taking away more of the 7 1/2 feet of width.

and the treadmill thing that is the wife's idea. Bought it two years ago and all it is used for is to drape stuff over. If I could I would get rid of it tomorrow but...like I said the wife wants it so it stays. Think she expects me to use it but I just want the man cave so I can hide out and read more DIY Chatroom questions.

thanks again

Walt
walt1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 06:22 PM   #9
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default


First, AFCIs are NOT required for rework....yet.....unless your local code adopted that.

Second, yes you have the potential to return 40A on that neutral.

I would wire the heaters separate. Easier to D/C in the off season.

Heaters pull around 1500w or about 13 amps for space heaters at least.....
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 06:27 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by LyonsElecSupply View Post
First, AFCIs are NOT required for rework....yet.....unless your local code adopted that.

Second, yes you have the potential to return 40A on that neutral.

I would wire the heaters separate. Easier to D/C in the off season.

Heaters pull around 1500w or about 13 amps for space heaters at least.....
A properly installed MWBC will NOT have double amperage on the neutral. The most the neutral will carry is 20 amps if there is no current on one of the hots.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
walt1122 (12-09-2010)
Old 12-08-2010, 06:37 PM   #11
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
A properly installed MWBC will NOT have double amperage on the neutral. The most the neutral will carry is 20 amps if there is no current on one of the hots.

Forgot about the 180 phase alternation. Forget it, its been a long day.

As long as you use a 2pole breaker it will not be over 20amps.
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LyonsElecSupply For This Useful Post:
walt1122 (12-09-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed zapped Electrical 17 10-23-2010 10:15 AM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
Replacing kitch outlets to GFCI jhubert Electrical 7 11-16-2009 07:23 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
12/3 Romex to Feed 2 Circuits? DaveHembree Electrical 22 09-28-2007 08:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts