12-2 Wire That Is Actualy 14-2 - Electrical - Page 7 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-21-2010, 10:37 AM   #91
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by JakAHearts View Post
Thanks HooKoo. We were typing at the same time. You put that a lot easier than I was trying to convey. So one 12-2 circuit for all three outlets in the bathroom and keep the 14 for the lights and fan.

Can one spot house both the GFI and switch for the lighting even though they are wired seperately?

Also, am I better off starting a new thread and letting this old thing die or...?

Shane
Two circuits can share the same box; however, the grounds of both circuits must be tied together in the box.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2010, 10:42 AM   #92
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by JakAHearts View Post
Can one spot house both the GFI and switch for the lighting even though they are wired seperately?
According to code, nothing wrong with that, but in most bathrooms I've seen, the switches are by the door at a normal switch height, while the GFI receptical is mounted a little lower near the sink basin (if the sink basin has a wall beside it, the outlet is usually several inches above the counter top and behind the mid-point of the sink basin).
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2010, 10:53 AM   #93
Knows everything but that
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default


I have a seperate area for the vanity/sink area. It is pretty far from the entrance so Ill have two seperate light switches. One for the sink/vanity and one for the toilet/shower. Youve been very helpful, thank you!

Shane
JakAHearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2010, 11:36 AM   #94
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


You can have two circuits in the same box, but mark the wires as such, and do not mix up the neutrals.

Also remember that only your first outlet needs to be GFCI, if you feed the rest of them from the LOAD side of the outlet. Everything connected to the load side is also protected. Once you wire it, you can verify that it is all protected by pressing the TEST button on the GFCI - just make sure the other outlets are also dead.

A moderator may separate this discussion into a new thread, since it's gone a little off-topic
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 12:36 PM   #95
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 617
Rewards Points: 596
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Or, for more traditional units, 0.000000000000000002175 light-years.
Pshht. I did the Lowe's run in less than 12 parsecs.
operagost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 12:06 PM   #96
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by operagost View Post
Pshht. I did the Lowe's run in less than 12 parsecs.
In which Star Wars episode was that?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 01:07 PM   #97
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
In which Star Wars episode was that?
Star Wars episode 14 - "A New Dope"
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 04:13 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts