12-2 Wire That Is Actualy 14-2 - Electrical - Page 5 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-28-2009, 11:46 AM   #61
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 3way View Post
I have wired many homes and am well familiar with the wire gauges and their sizes.
#12 AWG is 0.0808" dia. so 10 turns wrapped around a dowel should have a length of 0.81", ~13/16ths.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2009, 11:57 AM   #62
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
#12 AWG is 0.0808" dia. so 10 turns wrapped around a dowel should have a length of 0.81", ~13/16ths.
or he could grab his handy micrometer and measure the wire. Doesn't everybody have a micrometer handy? I know I have at least 3 (seriously).
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2009, 12:17 PM   #63
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If I have a micrometer I haven't seen it in years



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2009, 12:38 PM   #64
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
If I have a micrometer I haven't seen it in years
Dang, I must be the odd one out.

I learned to use a mic from my dad before I was a teenager. I remember the cautions of "it's a precision instrument, don't be rough with it". After I bought one, I realized why dad was so picky about how I treated his mic's.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 12:44 PM   #65
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,150
Rewards Points: 946
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
or he could grab his handy micrometer and measure the wire. Doesn't everybody have a micrometer handy? I know I have at least 3 (seriously).
Got a couple in the tool box, but digging them out may take a while!
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 01:28 PM   #66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Never got one.
I use a 10x magnifier and compare the wire or whatever to objects of known size.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 04:30 PM   #67
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Never got one.
I use a 10x magnifier and compare the wire or whatever to objects of known size.
Yoyi of all people I expected you to have a complete set of mics with calibration tools, Man you really let me down. Yeah I have an old starret around here somewhere I haven't used it for about 30 years.
Happy New Year
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 05:02 PM   #68
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Arkansas
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
I doubt it would go to court, it would be almost impossible to seat an unbiased jury.
Mike in Arkansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 05:44 PM   #69
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
a complete set of mics
Several times I came close to buying a $35 unit.

I'm now getting rid of stuff that I hardly ever use.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 06:14 PM   #70
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
Yoyi of all people I expected you to have a complete set of mics with calibration tools, Man you really let me down. Yeah I have an old starret around here somewhere I haven't used it for about 30 years.
Happy New Year
complete set? Is there such thing?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 06:17 AM   #71
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
complete set? Is there such thing?
Absolutely, when you work on big Diesel engines, Turbines, Pumps, Air compressors, ETC. you need all kinds of sets from 1 inch up to ? There are quite a few sets you can buy in big wooden boxes that have spaces for each size lined with soft cloth and calibration spacers.
When I reference the equipment I mean from small to power plant size.

Last edited by SULTINI; 12-29-2009 at 06:19 AM. Reason: Coment: Just like the one in the picture came from a set.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 11:05 AM   #72
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
Absolutely, when you work on big Diesel engines, Turbines, Pumps, Air compressors, ETC. you need all kinds of sets from 1 inch up to ? There are quite a few sets you can buy in big wooden boxes that have spaces for each size lined with soft cloth and calibration spacers.
When I reference the equipment I mean from small to power plant size.
I understand what you mean. I was just joking around. My point was simply there is no real standard set. You buy what you need and if you need a set that goes to 36", you buy a set that goes to 36".

Not a lot of folks are going to need the size of the mic in the picture though although I do know a few that do.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 04:04 PM   #73
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
Not a lot of folks are going to need the size of the mic in the picture though although I do know a few that do.
Dolly Parton?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 11:33 AM   #74
Knows everything but that
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Answer


So was there ever an answer/explanation to this thread? I just purchased the same wire and its a good bit thinner than the "old" 12-2 wire. A lot more plyable as well, or is it pliable. Anyway, Im not at home but I do have a micrometer to measure with. I just dont want to rewire my childrens bedrooms with a fire hazard.

Shane
JakAHearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 12:14 PM   #75
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by JakAHearts View Post
So was there ever an answer/explanation to this thread? I just purchased the same wire and its a good bit thinner than the "old" 12-2 wire. A lot more plyable as well, or is it pliable. Anyway, Im not at home but I do have a micrometer to measure with. I just dont want to rewire my childrens bedrooms with a fire hazard.

Shane

If the wire says 12 on it, I would trust it. If you are worried, you could drop the breaker down to 15 Amps.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 04:13 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts