110v From Pump Circuit ! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-13-2019, 06:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 64
Default

110v From Pump Circuit !


I retired to Fl and purchased a property the has the water pump supplied with 12-2 romex in conduit(installed by the plumber). I know that you have to have thhn of uf in conduit now. Anyway I have a lot of projects but I wanted to get the well covered since there were supplies left. Anyway I opened a box out there an attached a plug to the black and the bare ground. I used a miter saw and a compressor with no issues. I know thats not code but short of pulling 75 ft of 4 thhn wires, I would like to get a gfi and light out there. I found this transformer on ebay : https://www.ebay.com/itm/Jefferson-P...53.m1438.l2649 .

This transformer would be a cheaper/easier alternative to work pulling and the wire expense. Any other options, transformer deal or comments ? Thanks.

Last edited by Hiskid; 12-13-2019 at 06:53 PM.
Hiskid is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2019, 06:48 PM   #2
Naildriver
 
chandler48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Young Harris, Georgia
Posts: 8,361
Rewards Points: 1,350
Default

Re: 110v From Pump Circuit !


What size is your conduit? You should have a neutral in the well house to make it compliant. Using the ground as a neutral is not, although it will work, just not as it was designed.
__________________
Larry......
Half of Communications is Listening, and You can't Listen with your Mouth.
chandler48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2019, 06:53 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 64
Default

Re: 110v From Pump Circuit !


The conduit is 1/2 inch. Can you use two hots and a bare ground a 240v pump circuit ?
Hiskid is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-14-2019, 10:49 AM   #4
Naildriver
 
chandler48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Young Harris, Georgia
Posts: 8,361
Rewards Points: 1,350
Default

Re: 110v From Pump Circuit !


Yes, you can use the two wires for hots and the ground on a 240 volt circuit. You will not have the luxury of having 120 volts, however. For a 120/240 volt application, you will need the 4th wire (white) along with your red and black and ground.
__________________
Larry......
Half of Communications is Listening, and You can't Listen with your Mouth.
chandler48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2019, 12:41 AM   #5
Disrespectful to dirt
 
Fishbulb28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,034
Rewards Points: 2,070
Default

Re: 110v From Pump Circuit !


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiskid View Post
I found this transformer on ebay :
It's cheap because it is also tiny, too small for use with even a single receptacle circuit. You'll need to look for either a 2 kVA or 2.5 kVA transformer depending on whether you want a 15A or 20A 120V circuit.

Quote:
This transformer would be a cheaper/easier alternative to work pulling and the wire expense.
There's going to be some ancillary equipment needed that is going to add to the cost so it's doubtful it will be any cheaper than running a new feeder. It may be easier, especially since that NM cable may not come out.

But before even beginning to consider any options, what are the specs on the well pump motor? Odds are good there isn't enough spare capacity on the circuit to support anything else. You would need to run a new feeder anyway if that is the case.
Fishbulb28 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2019, 09:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 64
Default

Re: 110v From Pump Circuit !


Thanks for all the help. Looks like I'll skip putting the 110v oulet there for now. Looks like I'll make a thread on a light circuit from 220v. GBY
Hiskid is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts