York HVAC Blowing 5 Amp Fuse. Looking For Some Help Please - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 03-08-2020, 07:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


I noticed the fan was turning itself on and off every few seconds. Before I could turn off the system, it turned itself off for me (thermostat control display went dark and system was off, no breakers tripped). I did a search and saw mention of the capacitor being a culprit for the fan off/on issue. I replaced it with a new one but before powering everything back on, I checked around for anything else that might be visibly damaged, etc and noticed the 5 Amp fuse on the controller board was blown. From what I could read on it, 5A 36V, so I purchased replacement fuse.

Thermostat is set to off position, fan is set to 'auto/off' position. I turned on the main breaker and then went over to the HVAC and turned on both breakers together and the fuse blew immediately. I then tried the reverse, turning on the HVAC breakers first and then the main, same thing.

Now I'm trying to figure out what might be causing the fuse to blow (blower motor bad?) and am here looking for some guidance for this HVAC newbie armed with a multi-meter...

Brand: York (heat pump/electric)
Model: F+RP036H06A circa 1999

Thank you,
WD

Last edited by WorryDice; 03-08-2020 at 07:24 PM. Reason: clarifying what i meant by 'turned itself off'
WorryDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2020, 07:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,836
Rewards Points: 716
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


That’s a 24V circuit.
Your short will be in the control circuit. Not in the high voltage circuit. The capacitor doesn’t have any bearing on the control fuse blowing.

Last edited by roughneck; 03-08-2020 at 07:35 PM.
roughneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2020, 08:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


Hey RN. Yes. I replaced the capacitor because (aside from being 20 years old) what I was finding related to the motor starting and stopping every few seconds was a bad capacitor. It was while i was checking the rest of the boards, wires, etc, I noticed the blown fuse.

Ok, so now that it's narrowed down a bit. How do I go about finding the cause of the short/location so I might solve the issue? Thanks!
WorryDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2020, 09:13 PM   #4
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,445
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


Use a meter with power off and check resistance between transformer output (leading to R thermostat wire) and ground.

Either you have a short to ground in the air handler, outdoor unit or thermostat/wiring or you have a shorted component.

You can disconnect the tstat and low voltage outdoor unit wires, see if it blows to determine if the short is inside the air handler or not. But I don't like this testing method - waste of fuses and hard on the transformer.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 11:14 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


I'm attaching a picture of the board to make sure we're on the same page. Ty.
Attached Thumbnails
York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please-worrydice-hvac-board.jpg  
WorryDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 07:49 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,836
Rewards Points: 716
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


Yes, that’s the control board and control wiring.
roughneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 10:39 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


I get 0 when R (Red wire) and ground are tested for resistance. So something is shorted. What should I disconnect to try and isolate the issue? Ty.
WorryDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 11:45 AM   #8
Member
 
surferdude2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Southern Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,946
Rewards Points: 898
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


Since it blew the fuse when you had all loads turned off at the thermostat, you need to disconnect the red wire from the thermostat end and at the air handler end and check for continuity from the red wire to all the others, and also to ground, to see if a short exists.

If no short exists in the thermostat wire, check the red wire going to the outdoor unit for a ground condition. The defrost board on the outdoor unit may be the culprit.

Red to ground is a valid test procedure since the 24 vac transformer has a jumper to ground on the C side of the transformer.
surferdude2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 10:27 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


ok. So it appears that the outside unit, or wire to it, is causing the short as the red wire (R) that leads to the outside unit shows near 0 resistance while the other wire going to the thermostat isn't. I have to grab another pack of fuses tomorrow to test if everything seems ok when that outside leading red wire is disconnected. Anything else I should try/do before I test it that way? Thank you.
WorryDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 10:47 PM   #10
Member
 
surferdude2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Southern Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,946
Rewards Points: 898
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


Save the fuses and use your multimeter. The ohms reading is all you need to find the short. That red wire will have a value well above zero when you unlug whatever it is that's shorted.

I'd start by checking the coil on the compressor contactor. Remove either one of the wires from the coil and see if the resistance of the R line is no longer zero.

We need the make and model of that unit to go any futher with any degree of certainty. A picture of the circuit diagram that is on one of the covers somewhere would be good too.

Last edited by surferdude2; 03-09-2020 at 10:52 PM.
surferdude2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 10:57 PM   #11
Member
 
surferdude2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Southern Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,946
Rewards Points: 898
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


It could also be a short in the control cable going to the unit since it's outside and the squirrels can get to it. Inspect it closely.
surferdude2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 10:57 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


roger. I'll get model # in am, it is also a YORK unit. I'll also unplug the wire to track down the short further, scan the wire itself and report back. Thank you for your help tracing this.
surferdude2 likes this.

Last edited by WorryDice; 03-09-2020 at 10:58 PM. Reason: answering other update before i posted
WorryDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 02:35 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


Status update...

I disconnected the red wire leading to the heat pump. I checked the wiring and it looks completely intact. I tried to disconnect the connector to the board outside but it seemed to be pretty tight on there and I didn't want to damage the board (if it is still working).

So with that said, I left the outside unit disconnected as well as the red wire from the inside control board. Reconnected everything else and replaced the fuse. Powered it up and it didn't blow the fuse. The fan runs ok. So this brings me to the question: since the outside heat pump is disconnected, would it be bad to turn on the heat setting? Do I set it to the normal setting or use the AUX/Emergency heat setting?

I've attached the outside unit's model # and 2 control board pics, 1 with board # and one with the wire circled that appeared to be really tight on the board and ties in to the wire from inside unit. Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please-20200309_185729.jpg   York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please-20200309_190118.jpg   York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please-20200310_144914.jpg  
WorryDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 03:08 PM   #14
Member
 
surferdude2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Southern Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,946
Rewards Points: 898
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


Unplug the compressor wire from the board (see picture below) and see if the short disappears from the red circuit. If so, it will pretty well mean that the compressor contactor has failed and the operator coil on it is shorted.
Attached Thumbnails
York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please-unplug.jpeg  
surferdude2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 05:07 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please


The wire still comes up as shorted. So likely the board so I then pulled the board off and attached a pic of the area (blue resistor upper left corner) that looks like it blew (i couldn' tell before as that area was shadowed). But the compressor etc could still be an issue no? Compressor capacitor? Have to test those.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please-20200310_174201.jpg   York HVAC blowing 5 amp fuse. Looking for some help please-20200310_174230.jpg  
WorryDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
capacitor , fuse , motor , rp036h06a , york


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts