Wrong Run Capacitor? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By raylo32
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-11-2016, 08:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Wrong run capacitor?


My question is about my run capacitor for a heat pump unit. The compressor says it requires a "45 mfd 370v" capacitor, but the run capacitor on the unit is 25+5mfd. Is that the wrong capacitor for the unit or is there some other reason the run capacitor is less than what it says on the compressor?

Thank you!
munstie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2016, 08:58 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MO
Posts: 488
Rewards Points: 907
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


Yes, that's the wrong cap, should match the compressor.
Bitters is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2016, 09:04 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


Guess that would explain why sometimes it would work fine, and sometimes it wouldn't engage the compressor....
munstie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2016, 10:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MO
Posts: 488
Rewards Points: 907
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


I'm surprised the 25 mfd would start the compressor.
Bitters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 10:32 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 2,444
Rewards Points: 144
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


Capacitors have a tolerance rating on them .Some are as much as 10% depending on the quality .You should try and match the capacitance as close as possible .The voltage is fine as long as it meets or exceeds the requirement.
mako1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 11:36 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


Every time the ac/heat was off for a while it would be a pain getting it to run again. I'd have to flip breakers numerous times and 'something' would eventually catch and the compressor would work.. it would work fine for weeks/months till either it set for awhile without coming on, or the power would flicker/go off.. then back to flipping breakers. I've told 3 different service men this and they just wanted to add freon, which I did twice.. second time I had them put a sealer in. Guy that came yesterday (guy #3) said may be time for a new one since it's 15yrs old.. said the pressure was low, but hard to say since compressor didn't work.. he checked the capacitance and the capacitor was in limits for what it was labeled, but not that it was the correct capacitor.. so have a new run capacitor coming..
munstie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 12:05 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MO
Posts: 488
Rewards Points: 907
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


After the right cap is installed and you are still having the same problem, ask them to install a hard start kit. Might gave you a few more years.
Bitters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 12:20 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


So you think just putting the right capacitor in won't fixit?
munstie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 02:56 PM   #9
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 2,130
Rewards Points: 1,328
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


He is only saying "if" it isn't enough. Try the correct standard cap first, then if that doesn't cut it get a hard start cap kit. Old worn out equipment sometimes will need a little extra kick is all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by munstie View Post
So you think just putting the right capacitor in won't fixit?
Bitters likes this.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 02:36 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


Well the new run capacitor didn't do it.. I was watching the electric meter as the compressor was trying to kick in and it would occasionally speed up for a second or two, but never fully engage. Does this mean that either my compressor is shot, or I'm low on freon, or possibly both, other? I could drop more cash and get the hard start kit, but it still may not work. thoughts?

Left feedback to the HVAC repair company that was out three times and didn't notice the wrong capacitor. Supposedly they are going to call me Monday, see what they offer as a remedy.
munstie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 02:47 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MO
Posts: 488
Rewards Points: 907
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


Best way to see if the compressor is bad is to OMH it out, Does it trip the breaker?
Bitters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 02:56 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bitters View Post
Best way to see if the compressor is bad is to OMH it out, Does it trip the breaker?
Not familiar with how to do that.. did a quick google search and no luck. Have any links or can you explain the process?
munstie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 03:25 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MO
Posts: 488
Rewards Points: 907
Default

Re: Wrong run capacitor?


Go to youtube and check out drzarkloff. He has some good vids.
Bitters is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bitters For This Useful Post:
munstie (05-13-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motors, capacitors and windings KDGrayson HVAC 3 04-10-2015 04:15 AM
start capacitor blown lee12 HVAC 13 09-20-2010 08:01 AM
Need help finding specific capacitor! mark2741 HVAC 21 07-25-2010 08:20 PM
run capacitor blew up caught fire in AC unit. saltshaker30 HVAC 2 07-01-2010 09:08 PM
Condenser motor and Capacitor confusion ryanru HVAC 5 06-26-2010 12:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts