Using Blower Fan - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 04-25-2020, 01:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 220
Default

Using Blower Fan


So a company was replacing a HVAC system near me recently and I was able to harvest the Squirrel Cage fan which they said was still good. I want to wire it to use as a patio "fan" to simply move air when the temp is hot. The fan has 2 brown wire and 1 each red,blue, black, orange and white. I am assuming the fan is 110 volt ac. Which three wires should I use for power?

Thanks
wpollock is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2020, 04:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,842
Rewards Points: 732
Default

Re: Using Blower Fan


Shouldn’t assume it’s 115V, many are 208/230V.
This isn’t a great choice for a circulation fan.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2020, 09:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 38
Default

Re: Using Blower Fan


Upload a pic of the motorís tag. Should have a diagram on it
jmal1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-29-2020, 07:28 PM   #4
dj3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: CA
Posts: 1,511
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Re: Using Blower Fan


You want to use an A/C forced air fan in a patio?
Wrong application.
dj3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 07:30 PM   #5
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,451
Rewards Points: 60
Default

Re: Using Blower Fan


The motor will over-amp if the blower operating without restriction - you'll have to restrict the intake a bit.

best to just buy a box fan or something.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts