Used R410a Risks - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 06-04-2016, 03:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 582
Rewards Points: 444
Default

Used R410a risks


I just bought a tank of r410a off a guy who answered my craigslist ad. He wanted 120 dollars.. He said it was brand new but he had used a few pounds. He answered my ad because he said he has been there before.

I got it home and now I'm wondering if I was scammed..

It weighs just over 25 lbs.. The bottom feet are scuffed and the top is scuffed around the rim. I'm guessing it could have been rattling around in his car..

What are the chances this was his recovery tank?
Attached Thumbnails
Used R410a risks-image_1465070547580.jpg   Used R410a risks-image_1465070588953.jpg   Used R410a risks-image_1465070611198.jpg   Used R410a risks-image_1465070633034.jpeg   Used R410a risks-image_1465070660757.jpg  

Used R410a risks-image_1465070681770.jpeg  
zootjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2016, 03:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 582
Rewards Points: 444
Default


He said he was working on the commercial system at a grocery store and had an un-logo'd white van with hvac gear in it. I know it is compressed gas..
zootjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2016, 03:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2,491
Rewards Points: 568
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


New tank weighs 33lbs give or take a few ounces. I'd be scared to use one as a recovery tank. Pretty good chance you would blow the safety. I'd say its a legit sale. Hopefully not selling his bosses refrigerant
BayouRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2016, 03:44 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Maryland
Posts: 142
Rewards Points: 272
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


I'm pretty sure all the non-recovery tanks have check valves so you can't use it as a recovery tank,

BTW, anyone in the US can buy a jug of R410a, no- EPA cert is needed for it.. Unless you have a cert, I don't know of a local supply house that will sell it, but online, they're a dime a dozen. Around me, at the supply houses sell the 25lb cylinder for about $125.. I'm pretty sure you can get it for about there online too, delivered. It was cheaper a couple months ago, but with cooling season, I think they all jacked the price up.
crabjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 04:05 PM   #5
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,163
Rewards Points: 3,076
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


wonder if u can bring it over the boarder.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 04:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MO
Posts: 488
Rewards Points: 907
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


Crabjoe is right, You can't use that bottle to recover ref.
Bitters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 04:31 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,223
Rewards Points: 1,584
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


A recovery tank looks totally different. It is very heavy built and has 2 valves. Gas and liquid plus your disposable one has a built in check valve so it cannot be refilled.
Attached Thumbnails
Used R410a risks-tank.jpg  
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 04:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 622
Rewards Points: 1,236
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


To reiterate crabjoe, you can buy a new 25 lb bottle online. Today from Amazon pricing is $132.40.
bfletcher7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 05:31 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,489
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


Can't use that as a recovery tank, the valve has a check built into it.
You'd probably gotten a better deal just buying a new bottle.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 11:08 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 39,068
Rewards Points: 9,856
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


Quote:
Originally Posted by zootjeff View Post
He said he was working on the commercial system at a grocery store and had an un-logo'd white van with hvac gear in it. I know it is compressed gas..
Slim to no chance its was his recovery tank, as it would most likely blow the relief using that jug for recovery.

It may be stolen though, as in it was probably his bosses refrigerant he sold you.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 01:10 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 582
Rewards Points: 444
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


Thanks for the replies everyone. I loaded 4lbs 6 oz into my system and it works great! I went from 26 lbs to 21ish. Thanks for the all the insights!

-Jeff
zootjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 06:21 PM   #12
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,163
Rewards Points: 3,076
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


Quote:
Originally Posted by zootjeff View Post
Thanks for the replies everyone. I loaded 4lbs 6 oz into my system and it works great! I went from 26 lbs to 21ish. Thanks for the all the insights!

-Jeff
fix the leak?
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 12:18 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 582
Rewards Points: 444
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


Quote:
Originally Posted by user_12345a View Post
fix the leak?
Yes, I was not good at the 1/4 flare tool on my first couple flares, even though I did about 15 test flares, and I noticed it was a little cockeyed when I first did it. It held 250psi nitrogen previously, and a 600 micron vacuum. and it ran for weeks cooling. This weekend it didn't cool at all. I tested the schrader and got nothing. Put in a little nitrogen and then bumped the flare fitting and got the bubbles. Re-did the flare, ran a 150psi Nitrogen purge. Bought a new vacuum pump, pulled a vacuum. Took much longer pulling the entire outdoor unit.. But then when it held a vacuum, it held it rock solid. Before when I'd throw the valve it would creep back up but then settle out. This time it held the same value without moving for an hour. The pump was only able to get about 1000 micron. Then I weighed it in. Working like a charm.
zootjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 12:58 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,071
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Used R410a risks


Some of the vacuum pumps have multiple ports on them. (different sizes) Make sure that the caps are tight, as they can cause a poor vacuum.

If it held at 1000um then you should be fine, even if it's a tad high.

PS. Flares take quite some practice to get right every time. They look easy, but they are just as easy to mess up. Don't sweat over it.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to convert existing R22 system to R410A pointedspider HVAC 39 03-25-2017 08:32 AM
Charge HVAC R410a as a Gas? statum1012 HVAC 22 10-18-2013 05:18 PM
R410a acessories JJboy HVAC 4 05-25-2011 08:10 PM
Which works better - R410a or R22 HP/AC kb3ca HVAC 7 08-17-2010 07:50 PM
is a charging R410a same as R22 LLB62777 HVAC 8 04-08-2010 05:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts