Unbelievable, Thermostat Setting Changes By ITSELF - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 01-20-2014, 05:17 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 582
Default


ok then after all the comments here..we all agree replace the t stat...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (01-20-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2014, 05:37 PM   #32
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,445
Rewards Points: 196
Default


I dunno, Have to check the ole crystal ball. Could be a episode of "The Zone" Bwahahaha
Attached Images
   
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2014, 11:06 AM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

same thing only worse


okay dokie, regular window unit. model number.FAC127S1A

ya i should have started a new thread. w/e .. anyways

the thing constantly changes from "cool" to "energy saver" to "fan only" some times really fast like a constant sequence of "beeps".. sometimes just one or two beeps (beep meaning it changed settings). and it only does this in the area that controls those three settings. the Temperature doesn't change nor does the fan speed.. the friggin thing will wake me up in the middle of the night with a flurry of beeps and i have to refrain from tearing it out of the wall only because there would be a hole in the wall, plus no ac in FL.... but i think im getting close to understanding what's going on here... either there is a short. ie dust build up on the board. or it wasn't wired right to begin with..or i need to find the circular battery thats on one of the boards .. one of those 2032 batteries and replace that i have the thermostat chip hanging out by the wires so i can press the buttons on the actual board instead of having the plastic cover over it because i thought the case was fitting too tight and maybe that was the prob but nope.. still ghost changes with it off.. soooooo replace the thermostat?
bradentucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2014, 07:03 AM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

unbelievable thermostat


By chance have you ever figured out what the problem was? We have the same exact thing happening at our house.. Love how people jump to a conclusion with out knowing the truth or facts. Im very interested in your findings.. Thanks
Schmitt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 01:31 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thermostat with its own mind


We also have the same problem...our thermostat on the AC changes itself with a continual barrage of beeps...help!
Relosach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 03:19 PM   #36
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,445
Rewards Points: 196
Default


Electronic thermostats can go haywire/malfunction just from age. Average life is 10 yrs.

Mechanical thermostats should not change their setpoint unless the mechanism inside is very loose. The heat anticipator should not be creating enough heat to expand it. If it is then you have a serious current draw problem from the gas valve.

Get a new Honeywell Focus Pro thermostat from HDepot.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 03:34 AM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks Yuri, but I live in Taiwan...no HDepot here and probably no Honeywell Focus Pro thermostat...time to call the technicians in....thanks again!!!
Relosach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 03:37 AM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Our AC went bonkers when the typhoon hit the other day....and has been bonkers since...
Relosach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 08:38 AM   #39
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,445
Rewards Points: 196
Default


Probably had a power surge and it damaged the circuit board.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 12:50 AM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Default


My thermostat ( manual thermostat) is changing temperature settings on it's own aswell. Came home this evening and thermostat was set at 90%. I live alone. All doors locked. 😕
Deborah Peel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fan setting reads AUTO and ON at same time on Honeywell 8500 thermostat Studly HVAC 1 03-21-2011 08:27 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Burner always stops at LOW setting on L8124L pleasehelpmike HVAC 2 01-19-2011 08:22 AM
Least expensive Programmable Thermostat for home with automatic vacation setting Studly HVAC 2 12-15-2009 07:18 AM
A/C not cooling to thermostat setting? stephgpdiy HVAC 11 08-21-2009 07:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts