Trane XL80/Ecobee AC Seems OK But Furnace/Fan Control Not Working? - HVAC - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-25-2020, 07:05 PM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 396
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by user_12345a View Post
did you use the wire normally connected to low heat?

if yes, ya you're looking at a board replacement.
I used the wire connected to the cooling. I did not try anything else but there's a "Lo Heat" red wire - I'm assuming try that one too and see? So if nothing comes on with that then it could be an issue with the motor still ? I'll go try it now
jplee3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-25-2020, 07:14 PM   #47
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,445
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


Use the low heat wire - the way motors work, if there's an issue with the capacitor or windings, it's most likely to show up on the lowest speed.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-25-2020, 07:17 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by user_12345a View Post
Use the low heat wire - the way motors work, if there's an issue with the capacitor or windings, it's most likely to show up on the lowest speed.
I tried with the lo heat and hi heat cables and both worked fine. It seems like the lo heat maybe took a split second longer to "kick in" if that makes sense but it ran just fine.
jplee3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-25-2020, 07:18 PM   #49
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,445
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


^that's normal as the motor has less torque on the lowest speed.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2020, 07:35 PM   #50
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by user_12345a View Post
^that's normal as the motor has less torque on the lowest speed.

Ah makes sense. Thanks for all the input and help! Guess I'll wait for the control board. Do you think it's a good idea just to go ahead and swap the capacitor anyway? I just ordered via Amazon so I can always return it.
jplee3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2020, 07:45 PM   #51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,073
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by user_12345a View Post
I'm no fan of changing out parts to troubleshoot even though capacitors are cheap.
Neither am I, but a meter costs more then the capacitor. They do wear out, especially when warmer. If it's older, it's worth changing at any rate for a DIYr.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2020, 09:03 PM   #52
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,445
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


ya not a big loss if existing cap is still good.

here's a good, cheap fully featured meter for the diy'er: https://www.amazon.ca/AstroAI-Digita...5728778&sr=8-4

got one a few months ago, so far so good.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.

Last edited by user_12345a; 07-25-2020 at 09:05 PM.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2020, 09:24 PM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by user_12345a View Post
ya not a big loss if existing cap is still good.

here's a good, cheap fully featured meter for the diy'er: https://www.amazon.ca/AstroAI-Digita...5728778&sr=8-4


got one a few months ago, so far so good.
I just ordered one made by etekcity. It's good to have something with a few more features than the cruddy old harbor freight one I've been using haha
jplee3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2020, 10:17 PM   #54
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,445
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


hopefully it supports capacitance and dc micro-amps - both required to work on furnaces.

Beware of cheap meters, some are designed by asian companies and don't necessarily have north american safety certifications.

I went for the astroai due to being an american company - made in china like everything else.

etekcity - have no idea, seems like a private label.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.

Last edited by user_12345a; 07-25-2020 at 10:24 PM.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2020, 10:58 PM   #55
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,073
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by user_12345a View Post
Beware of cheap meters, some are designed by asian companies and don't necessarily have north american safety certifications...
Indeed, the cat III is important, along with being listed by UL or similar.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2020, 01:14 AM   #56
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 396
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


Ugh, so apparently I bought the wrong control board
Had I cared to notice or look, the model number is listed on the control board (White Rodgers) as "50M61-495"

The kit I bought, KIT15943, contains "50M51-495" and additional parts that apparently shouldn't be necessary for what I'm trying to accomplish. Just looking at the position of the LED light, 50M51-495 seems to be off (unless it can actually align as-is due to different dimensions of the circuit board and placement of the plastic retainers). But if I want to be 1:1 on this, I really ought to be getting the 50M61-495 instead.... sigh
jplee3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2020, 09:40 AM   #57
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,073
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jplee3 View Post
Ugh, so apparently I bought the wrong control board

Had I cared to notice or look, the model number is listed on the control board (White Rodgers) as "50M61-495"



The kit I bought, KIT15943, contains "50M51-495" and additional parts that apparently shouldn't be necessary for what I'm trying to accomplish. Just looking at the position of the LED light, 50M51-495 seems to be off (unless it can actually align as-is due to different dimensions of the circuit board and placement of the plastic retainers). But if I want to be 1:1 on this, I really ought to be getting the 50M61-495 instead.... sigh
It looks like it might cross reference, but it doesn't match exactly. The ignitor will likely need some work to make it fit and the old ignitor can't be used. There's probably a wiring harness adapter. This kind of replacement is not DIY friendly.

https://climate.emerson.com/document...us-1620478.pdf

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2020, 12:17 PM   #58
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 396
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


I was able to cancel the order for the incorrect control board...phew.

Is there a possibility that there's a different issue outside of the control board if we've ruled out the capacitor and apparently the motor (unless it's possible that something still is wrong with the motor). But assuming it's not the capacitor or motor, what else could it possibly be if, by chance, it's not the control board?
jplee3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2020, 03:44 PM   #59
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,445
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jplee3 View Post
I was able to cancel the order for the incorrect control board...phew.

Is there a possibility that there's a different issue outside of the control board if we've ruled out the capacitor and apparently the motor (unless it's possible that something still is wrong with the motor). But assuming it's not the capacitor or motor, what else could it possibly be if, by chance, it's not the control board?
You bought a generic board which may have been listed as compatible replacement for what you have. I didn't look into it.

Generally you have to be knowledgeable to use non-oem components as the wiring can be a little different.

It's the board in your case - you ruled out that stat and tested the lowest motor speed.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2020, 03:49 PM   #60
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 396
Default

Re: Trane XL80/Ecobee AC seems OK but Furnace/Fan control not working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by user_12345a View Post
You bought a generic board which may have been listed as compatible replacement for what you have. I didn't look into it.

Generally you have to be knowledgeable to use non-oem components as the wiring can be a little different.

It's the board in your case - you ruled out that stat and tested the lowest motor speed.
Thanks - I was able to cancel that board so no problem there. I guess I'll go ahead and just order an exact replacement board now that I have the model number lol.
jplee3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts