Swapping In A Different Condenser Coil - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By roughneck
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 04-21-2020, 10:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Swapping in a different condenser coil


I want to use a mini split for mobil use but the condenser unit is too tall for my application so I'd like to swap in a condenser coil / heat exchanger that's shorter in height (12-13 inches max). I found a few condenser heat exchangers made for large trucks that might fit the bill but these heat exchangers run R-134 instead of R410. Do you guys see any issues with doing this swap? Does the heat exchanger's "tube" size/shape matter between the two refrigerants? By "tube" I mean the individual lines that runs from one side of the heat exchanger to the other -- and has air turbulators/fins in between. Here is one example of a truck heat exchanger I'm looking at, it's for a Western Star truck: https://imgur.com/a/V5V6Odm
DeskDrawer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2020, 11:30 AM   #2
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,440
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Re: Swapping in a different condenser coil


mini-splits are well engineered, very sensitive and the components must all match - it's not a realistic option.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2020, 12:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,836
Rewards Points: 716
Default

Re: Swapping in a different condenser coil


No, this will not turn into a workable option.
Not to mention R-134A runs a fraction of the pressure R-410A does.
The compressor and electronics are all in the outdoor unit cabinet. What would you do with them?
user_12345a likes this.

Last edited by roughneck; 04-21-2020 at 12:30 PM.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts