So, I Am Thinking About Replacing My Furnace, Myself. - HVAC - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-31-2020, 10:10 PM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming
Posts: 1,361
Rewards Points: 716
Default

Re: so, i am thinking about replacing my furnace, myself.


Quote:
Originally Posted by user_12345a View Post
There's a lot of misinformation with respect to fracking
Apparently so.
HotRodx10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2020, 07:25 AM   #47
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 2,551
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

Re: so, i am thinking about replacing my furnace, myself.


I self installed one of these about... I don't know, 8 years ago? I got mine at Northern Tool but it seems they don't carry them anymore. But Home Depot does. These are Winchester brand which is just rebranded York/Johnson Controls. They carry mid and high efficiency units in all the common sizes in both single speed and 2-stage. These are really good quality, IMO.

This is an 80k 17" wide unit and as my original furnace was also 17" I already had a transition to mate up to the 20" wide plenum. As noted above these new furnaces are shorter. I went to a local sheet metal shop and had a simple rectangular transition to fill that extra gap.

IMO it is worth the extra cost to do a high efficiency unit and also to do a 2 stage. Much more comfortable that way. Just make sure to fully understand and follow the venting code. I also installed a condensate drain in the air intake pipe (you can install these furnaces 1-pipe and get intake air inside or 2-pipe and get intake air outside). Not sure it was necessary and I have never seen any water in it, but the manual called for it so I put one in. It really was trivial to connect that up to the normal furnace condensate drain that I plumbed to the existing air conditioning condensate drain, which was also trivial.

If you do this project, listen to BeenThere, Yuri, and others. They can help a lot.


https://www.homedepot.com/p/Winchest...MP12/313931468
Fix'n it likes this.
__________________
Live long and prosper.

Last edited by raylo32; 08-01-2020 at 07:30 AM.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to raylo32 For This Useful Post:
Fix'n it (08-01-2020)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2020, 07:46 AM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 7,932
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Re: so, i am thinking about replacing my furnace, myself.


thanx raylo. but a high efficiency, especially at that price, is just out of the question.
first, the cost, and then the roi = 30 years to break even ? i would be surprised if i am in this house 5 years from now, for various reasons. in fact, i have started purging some possessions for the anticipated move .

Last edited by Fix'n it; 08-01-2020 at 07:50 AM.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2020, 07:48 AM   #49
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 2,551
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

Re: so, i am thinking about replacing my furnace, myself.


They also have mid efficiency single speed units.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
thanx raylo. but a high efficiency, especially at that price, is just out of the question.
first, the cost, and then the roi = 30 years to break even ? i would be surprised if i am in this house 5 years from now, for various reasons.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 07:56 AM   #50
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 7,932
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Re: so, i am thinking about replacing my furnace, myself.


Quote:
Originally Posted by raylo32 View Post
They also have mid efficiency single speed units.
thank you. i just looked, even a 80% is $1000. if that was all i could get, i would just order replacement parts for mine to have on hand.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts