Previous Furnace Issue - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 01-20-2020, 12:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Previous Furnace Issue


Hi,
Last week I had two of my threads combine and confused everyone, so here's an update.
I have a York Diamond 80 furnace dual zone (2 thermostats).
The downstairs stat starts the furnace fine, blower starts in 30 seconds heat comes out. In exactly 2:40 seconds the system (flame) shuts off and the blower runs for 4:30 then turns off. Immediately the system (flame) comes back on and the cycle repeats.
However, the furance works GREAT from the upstairs stat. The furnace fires blower start in 30 seconds ran for 11 mins. warmed the upstairs 5 degrees then blower shut down in 40 seconds. PERECT!
I've tested the flame sensor and it read 4.2 mil amps.
What else can it be? The furnace control board? (I have no codes blinking) or even the equalizer control board that works furnace from both stats?
Thanks!
philipk65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2020, 01:14 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,449
Rewards Points: 204
Default

Re: Previous Furnace Issue


It sounds like it is cycling on/off with the high air temp limit switch.

Probably the downstairs stat is not opening a damper motor and allowing enough airflow.

The upstairs one must be allowing a damper to open and then it has enough airflow.

Zoning systems are not all alike as some have bypass dampers which may be motorized and other use air pressure.

Point is it sounds like a airflow problem causing it to overheat.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2020, 01:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Re: Previous Furnace Issue


Both my zones have motorized dampers. How do I check the dampers for opening
efficiently?
philipk65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2020, 07:05 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,449
Rewards Points: 204
Default

Re: Previous Furnace Issue


That can be complex. If the zoning board is failing to open them that could be the problem. Could be the damper on one of them is broken or the motor is shot or has stripped gears etc.

You may have to call a tech as I cannot see them or walk you thru that. Too many different types of zoning boards and systems to cover all that.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 11:00 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Re: Previous Furnace Issue


yuri, Today I removed the 2 damper motors and had the dampers wide open, furnace worked great in both zones!
Question I have is... before I took the motors out, one of them was really warm to the touch when the furnace was running. Is this normal?
philipk65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 12:07 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,845
Rewards Points: 738
Default

Re: Previous Furnace Issue


Could be normal. Does the damper cycle with a call?
roughneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts