No Power To Inducer - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-20-2016, 02:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

No power to Inducer


He guys/gals,

My heater stopped working a week ago. Its a 2008 honeywell system.
AC works fine.
Main blower come on with heat request. heat sequence never starts.
Pressure switch is fine.
But the inducer never starts.

I powered the inducer straight to a 120v plug and it runs fine, no bearing or jamming issues.

I am not getting power from the mother board to the inducer. The rest of the board has power. I checked the terminals on board for the inducer and have good continuity but I am not getting power. I pulled the board off and checked the back for solder joints. Everything 'looks' good. no breaks or burn marks etc.

After everything i have read and tested, i am at the conclusion it has to be the mother board (maybe one of the relays or something)

Does that sound right? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
eball is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2016, 02:19 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 21,702
Rewards Points: 1,536
Default

Re: No power to Inducer


As long as you have 24 volts from W to C at the board the inducer should start. The relay for it may be shot. Try gently tapping on the black plastic relays. Still would need a new board as tapping won't fix it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2016, 02:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,926
Rewards Points: 604
Default

Re: No power to Inducer


Check the high limit switch - if it's stuck open any modern furnace will behave as yours is, not sure if a call for heat is needed or not.

Check for error codes.

If all the safeties are fine, the connections are fine and the board is not applying power to the inducer with a call for heat, yes the board is bad.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2016, 02:58 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: No power to Inducer


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
As long as you have 24 volts from W to C at the board the inducer should start. The relay for it may be shot. Try gently tapping on the black plastic relays. Still would need a new board as tapping won't fix it.
No volts at W/C.
I am getting 24V straight off transformer.
eball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 03:02 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: No power to Inducer


Quote:
Originally Posted by user_12345a View Post
Check the high limit switch ....
Check for error codes.
No error codes.
Not sure how to check high limit switch?
eball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 03:16 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: No power to Inducer


Ok, just checked limit switch. Read 0V between terminals.
eball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 04:25 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MO
Posts: 488
Rewards Points: 907
Default

Re: No power to Inducer


If you have 0 volts on W/C when the stat is calling for heat, then you have a stat or wiring problem.

Also check R/C.

Last edited by Bitters; 04-20-2016 at 04:28 PM. Reason: added
Bitters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 04:43 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: No power to Inducer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bitters View Post
If you have 0 volts on W/C when the stat is calling for heat, then you have a stat or wiring problem.

Also check R/C.
i have 24V on R/C and G/C.

nothing on W/C or Y/C.
eball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 04:59 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4,111
Rewards Points: 3,230
Default

Re: No power to Inducer


Quote:
Originally Posted by eball View Post
i have 24V on R/C and G/C.

nothing on W/C or Y/C.
You should have 24 v between Y/C and W/C when the cooling or heating is calling only. Or else those things will not run.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 05:07 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Thumbs up

Re: No power to Inducer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bitters View Post
If you have 0 volts on W/C when the stat is calling for heat, then you have a stat or wiring problem.

Also check R/C.
AHA!!!

We recently switched our thermostat. The W wire had slipped out!!!
Didn't occur to me since everything else was working.

Thanks boys for the help!
eball is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to eball For This Useful Post:
Bitters (04-20-2016)
Old 04-20-2016, 05:11 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 21,702
Rewards Points: 1,536
Default

Re: No power to Inducer


Glad you got it fixed.

We always start with the obvious before replacing expensive boards.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
hvac , inducer , inducer won't run , mother board


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power problems on second floor, first floor is fine rarken1 Electrical 21 05-16-2015 12:42 PM
Inducer not getting power olympiadis HVAC 11 02-02-2015 02:08 AM
Dishwasher Power Supply Captain.Sassy Electrical 14 09-14-2011 06:28 AM
Bryant Plus 90 398AAZ inducer motor PCWilson HVAC 10 02-27-2011 05:55 PM
Dumb electrical question about potentially overloading a power socket zapp Electrical 2 02-18-2011 10:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts