Nest Thermostat Connecting To Furnace - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By user_12345a
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 09-16-2020, 09:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Nest thermostat connecting to furnace


Hey everyone
Trying to update my thermostat

Since my old thermostat didn't have a c wire thought I'd try the G trick where you attach it to the C on both the thermostat & furnace

Well I opened up my furnace and I have a joined wire that connects to the c already and a yellow that attaches to Y with the original from the thermostat
After some research found out this is for the outside unit

Can I still take the G wire and double up on the C at the furnace and use the other end for the C in the thermostat????

Help this DIY guy out !!!
Dave
Garland30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-16-2020, 09:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 38
Default

Re: Nest thermostat connecting to furnace


Buy an add a wire kit. They sell on amazon
jmal1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-16-2020, 09:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,840
Rewards Points: 724
Default

Re: Nest thermostat connecting to furnace


Run new wire, or better yet ditch the Nest before it causes you lots of headaches. They have and cause a lot of problems. Which are amplified without a common or using an add a wire devices.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-16-2020, 09:45 PM   #4
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,447
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Re: Nest thermostat connecting to furnace


if u want something decent that's similar (actually better) in features get the ecobee instead. it comes with an add a wire style kit specifically made for the stat that's less likely to cause problems.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 09:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 523
Rewards Points: 902
Default

Re: Nest thermostat connecting to furnace


If you've already purchased the Nest you can try the G wire trick, might work ok for you. You have to install the jumper to get the fan to come on while there is a call for cooling.


Nest thermostat connecting to furnace-gwire.png
57TinkerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 09:57 PM   #6
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,447
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Re: Nest thermostat connecting to furnace


^for nest and similar consumer products there's also the hammer trick.
57TinkerMan likes this.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 11:08 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 157
Rewards Points: 314
Default

Re: Nest thermostat connecting to furnace


Hi, I like the hammer trick, how difficult would it be pull a new thermostat cable? it would be a better option than trying to MM it with add on’s or jumpers.
JMO
Geo
Geochurchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 12:51 PM   #8
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,447
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Re: Nest thermostat connecting to furnace


Depends on your house - if you have to pull wire through finished areas beyond one partition wall it could be difficult.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts