Moving AC Unit Without Disconnecting The Wires - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By user_12345a
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 08-10-2020, 11:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Moving AC unit without disconnecting the wires


This may not sound very wise but what is the likelyhood of the wires breaking if I was to lift the AC unit 4-5 ft so I can form concrete pad? Its sitting on temp packed gravel and some natural stone leftover slabs. I was planning to lay sod and I dont want to work with concrete after sod is in.

Last edited by limiteddi; 08-10-2020 at 11:34 PM.
limiteddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2020, 12:03 AM   #2
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,459
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Re: Moving AC unit without disconnecting the wires


The wires aren't a big deal at all, it's the refrigerant lines. They're easy to disconnect if required, just need to be safe.

Unless your lineset has slack/is much longer than necessary outside, you'll need to call someone to pump the refrigerant in the indoor coil and lines down/into the condenser and disconnect.

Lots of $$ and if you can avoid doing this concrete work until the a/c needs to be replaced, you should.
Chris130 likes this.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2020, 09:09 AM   #3
Member
 
surferdude2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Southern Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,959
Rewards Points: 924
Default

Re: Moving AC unit without disconnecting the wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by limiteddi View Post
This may not sound very wise but what is the likelyhood of the wires breaking if I was to lift the AC unit 4-5 ft so I can form concrete pad? Its sitting on temp packed gravel and some natural stone leftover slabs. I was planning to lay sod and I dont want to work with concrete after sod is in.
Why so high... I'd think you could get by with 4 or 5 inches not feet, in which case it might be possible.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then...I'm younger than that now
surferdude2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2020, 09:43 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 37,128
Rewards Points: 1,896
Default

Re: Moving AC unit without disconnecting the wires


Far less work to just install a preformed pad.
https://herculesequipmentpads.com/
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 10:03 AM   #5
dj3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: CA
Posts: 1,525
Rewards Points: 208
Default

Re: Moving AC unit without disconnecting the wires


I would wait till the condenser needs replacing (which could happen sooner than you think, judging by today's lack of quality standards).
dj3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 03:31 PM   #6
Red Seal Electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 250
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Re: Moving AC unit without disconnecting the wires


Concrete slabs on gravel work fine.

My HVAC guy's bill was ~$1200 to pipe, reconnect, and charge the condensor unit after moving it 12 feet. (I did the electrical).
u2slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 04:09 PM   #7
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 2,561
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Re: Moving AC unit without disconnecting the wires


Once upon a time I raised mine about 2 feet and propped it up there to get it off the ground and onto the new deck I was building. I don't think it would have gone 4 or 5 feet, however, without damaging the refrigerant lines.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts