Life Breath Wonít Self Test On 200MAX - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By yuri
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 02-17-2020, 08:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: La Salle, Manitoba
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


Hello,

It started when my unit froze up during this recent cold snap. The motor on the defrost damper didnít appear to be working. Then I read about the ďself -testĒ in the manual but it doesnít appear to be operational either. Neither the damper or the fan speeds were cycled through.
When I cycle through all the fan speeds manually and operate the unit in ďstand-byď mode, all seems to be working correctly.

Does this mean the circuit board is flawed or might the defrost damper motor be broken? Is there a way to trouble shoot what the problem is?

Thanks,
Harry
Harry_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2020, 09:10 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,470
Rewards Points: 246
Default

Re: Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


The self test is when you unplug the cord/shut off the power and then re-power it.

Did you do that?

It should cycle thru all the fan speeds and open/close the damper. Otherwise the circuit board is likely faulty. No way to test that that I know of.
Harry_M likes this.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2020, 09:17 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: La Salle, Manitoba
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


Thanks for the quick reply, Yuri.

Yes, Iíve shut it off and restarted it but there is no self test going on. As stated in my first post, everything else seems normal, except for the self test and defrost cycle.
I just had the fan motor replaced last week and the same technician is coming over today to take another look. If heís not sure what to do Iíll give you a call.

Thanks again,
Harry
Harry_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2020, 10:52 AM   #4
Usually Confused
 
lenaitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,488
Rewards Points: 116
Default

Re: Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


If you can put a meter on the damper door motor you could see if it getting the voltage signal to move when it is supposed to. If the interior iced up the motor and/or the tiny gear set may have pooched.
__________________
_________________________________

Ubique
lenaitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 11:31 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: La Salle, Manitoba
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


Thanks, that makes sense too. Canít get at the wires easily, they go through a hole in the motor casing. I watched and listened at the motor when I cycled the power and there was no indication of any activity. I should be able to find the motor plug on the circuit board and check for a voltage there.

Any idea what the motor voltage is? Lots of 12V connectors on the board so I assume thatís it but I guess it could also be 120V.

Harry
Harry_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 05:05 PM   #6
Usually Confused
 
lenaitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,488
Rewards Points: 116
Default

Re: Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry_M View Post
Thanks, that makes sense too. Canít get at the wires easily, they go through a hole in the motor casing. I watched and listened at the motor when I cycled the power and there was no indication of any activity. I should be able to find the motor plug on the circuit board and check for a voltage there.

Any idea what the motor voltage is? Lots of 12V connectors on the board so I assume thatís it but I guess it could also be 120V.

Harry

No clue. I have a 150Max and the damper motor is right there when you open the main cabinet door. @yuri might know - he's in the biz, check with Lifebreath or see if there is anything stamped on the motor. If it is 12v (DC) you could try powering it from a battery source. If it is the motor I can't see them being all that expensive.
__________________
_________________________________

Ubique
lenaitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 07:46 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: La Salle, Manitoba
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


My motor is right up front also. Found a damper motor that is supposedly for this unit for $180. The one in the picture has 4 wires (two are connected) but mine looks like it only has 2.

Harry
Harry_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 09:04 PM   #8
Usually Confused
 
lenaitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,488
Rewards Points: 116
Default

Re: Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry_M View Post
My motor is right up front also. Found a damper motor that is supposedly for this unit for $180. The one in the picture has 4 wires (two are connected) but mine looks like it only has 2.

Harry

Just checked mine and it has four. There is a multi connector about 6" from the motor but you'd have to know which wires (assuming two) where you would expect to see voltage. There might be a wiring diagram on the back of the electrical connection box - I didn't check.
__________________
_________________________________

Ubique
lenaitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 07:16 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: La Salle, Manitoba
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


Thanks, I’ll take out the motor this morning and see if I have 4 wires too. Maybe it’s a stepper motor with two common wires? LOL, I think I’m getting over my head here.

Harry
Harry_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 08:36 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: La Salle, Manitoba
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


My motor has only 2 wires, black and white. Also when I look at the circuit boards available for the 200MAX, I donít see one that is similar to mine.

The house I live in was built in 1996, so it canít be older than that. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Harry
Harry_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 08:30 PM   #11
Usually Confused
 
lenaitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,488
Rewards Points: 116
Default

Re: Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


The only thing I've got left is contact Lifebreath with model and serial number and explain the problem. The serial number might help them determine if there was a mid-model change. I've only had to contact them once, just for advice since I had never owned one before I moved into this house. I found them helpful. Good luck.
__________________
_________________________________

Ubique
lenaitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 05:11 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: La Salle, Manitoba
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Life breath wonít self test on 200MAX


Yes, did that. Had to order the upgrade as my only option.

BTW, the damper motor runs on AC and mine works. Hopefully Iíll be able to plug it into the new board.

Thanks for the help.

Harry
Harry_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts