Issues With Boiler Short Cycling When AC Is On - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 06-18-2020, 03:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Issues with boiler short cycling when AC is on


Hi there - I am new to the forum and I apologize if my question is dumb. I am handy, but not an expert on HVAC systems so was hoping someone who is could give me some advice.

I have the setup as follows which was installed before I bought the house. Two zones, two thermosats, two hydronic air handlers (Comfort-Aire AHG24-0A) and one shared high efficiency Utica boiler connected via a valve control panel (Taco ZVC403).

In trying to improve efficiency, I tried installing an ecobee with voice. Because I only had 4 wires, I installed the PEK. The system worked great all winter, zero issues and I love it. Then, I needed to turn on AC...

I happened to be in the utility room and when the AC was running I could see the taco orange light for zone 1 would periodically start coming on intermittently until eventually zone 1 valve would close and the boiler would be initiated. By the time the boiler started, the taco panel lights would go off. This would then happen again a few minutes later as long as the AC was running.

Thinking it was the PEK, I removed it and ran a C wire to the air handler. The same issue persisted. I removed the ecobee entirely and backed out the C wire and installed the original relay based thermostat. Guess what - the taco panel is still intermittently calling the boiuler for heat via zone 1 when the AC in zone 1 is running.

Right now, I have disconnected the zone 1 connections to the Taco panel to stop the boiler being repeatedly cycled. My question(s) is:
  • Has the Ecobee damaged the air handler of Taco panel to cause this?
  • Does the taco panel need to be connected via the air handlers two white wires of can it be connected directly to the thermostat?
  • What could cause the panel to do this, even with a regular relay thermostat?

It is quite possible this behavior has always happened and I just didn't know about it. The contractor on this house made many bad choices.

Any help truly appreciated - sorry for the long email!
lonpjf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-18-2020, 03:52 PM   #2
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,447
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Re: Issues with boiler short cycling when AC is on


I'm unfamiliar with the type of setup/controls your have, but would try an isolating relay on the W signal/at the panel.

The ecobee doesn't use mechanical relays so there can be some current leakage sensitive electronics pick up
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts