Issue With New Central Air Unit - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-19-2020, 09:00 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


Try clicking "View rbucking's Album on the left. I can open them through that link. This is just under the reward points: 14 line. Thank you.
rbucking is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2020, 09:09 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,840
Rewards Points: 724
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


Your unit is freezing up, that’s one reason it’s not operating. Why is it freezing?
Did they reuse the evaporator coil?
The duct inside is a mess and isn’t going to flow very good. It also appears undersized for 5 tons of air.
All in all a messy installation.
Where’s the device they moved outside?
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2020, 09:13 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


Actually, they never pointed it out to me and I couldn't see anything that appeared to be moved / strapped on. Yes, the ductwork with the a-coil they made into a mess including the foil tape and caulk. They replaced the outdoor unit, both lines, and the indoor A-coil. I agree with the freeze up analysis, but to understand why?
rbucking is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2020, 09:17 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,840
Rewards Points: 724
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


Airflow or refrigerant charge, one of the 2.
Isn’t due to the manufacturer of the unit, it’s something the installer did. And the unit isn’t going to function like that.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 09:21 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


Thanks. That is very helpful. It could be air flow, but if some it is because they changed something with that inside coil. The indoor heating unit / air handler is the same. the overall ductwork is the same (although not perfect for sure). They told me that the mfg had then evacuate the system totally, then refill so I am assuming it is full of freon. It has new filters in the air handler. Hmm, could the filters be too restrictive?
rbucking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 09:29 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,840
Rewards Points: 724
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


I don’t think they have a clue, to be honest.
You don’t “fill” the system with refrigerant. You charge it. Too much is just as bad as too little.
I’m going to go out on a sarcastic limb and say they didn’t do any commissioning to the unit. So get them to fill this out. ***Honestly***

https://hvac-talk.com/vbb/attachment...1&d=1489971253
rbucking likes this.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 09:30 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


The filters were both sucked up into the unit - maybe bulged would be more accurate. The line appears to be thawed at this moment, so now I am running with no filter to see if it makes a difference. The filters that were in it were a washable, sort of el-cheapo, but had been in it for years. They changed those to disposable filters that do seem to be much more closed. We'll see. I do think that install at the indoor coil is a bit of a dog show.
rbucking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 09:48 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,840
Rewards Points: 724
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


So what now? Have you been left to fend for yourself with a broken unit?
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 09:52 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


No, we have a call scheduled for tomorrow morning. But I also have no problem bringing in someone else to fix this if necessary. I have got to believe there is something silly that is wrong here. Is the indoor coil sized correctly for the outdoor unit? I don't know. My intuition is telling me that there is something that they aren't telling me about this.
rbucking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 10:34 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,840
Rewards Points: 724
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


A call to who? The manufacturer? Those calls don’t have to be scheduled at all. Technical service departments pick up the phone during normal business hours.
But it’s not the fault of the manufacturer anyway. It’s an install error.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 11:09 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


What I did was scheduled an evaluation visit from another contractor. I spoke to them on the phone and explained the situation. They said they would come out and do an evaluation to include a document much like the one you posted (or that's what was described) and give their opinion of what may have been done incorrectly. That evaluation will be $60, so I thought it would be worth it.
bob22 likes this.
rbucking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 12:13 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2,518
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


Thatís pretty inexpensive for a visit. I canít quite figure out the installation. On how the air is flowing around the coil. Iím thinking the coil has air moving around the coil instead of through it. But by the pictures I canít tell how the air is flowing through the coils. Maybe a picture further back would help.
BayouRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 09:46 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


I am posting 2 photos. One is a broader shot of the plenum / outlet from the air handler. The other is of the sensor that was moved by the contractor this morning. It had been strapped to the large line, but they moved it to the small line. They said that it controlled a valve inside the plenum and modulated the amount of freon that moved through the coil. They said that it was only seeing cold temperatures while strapped to the large line and that caused the valve to stay partially closed. I asked if they had ever done that before and they said that in some cases where there isn't enough return air that this will happen. The temperature differential in the ducts is marked as over the weekend I never measured an outlet temp lower than about 61.8, this with a return air temp of about 74. The differential now is just over 16. Also, the discharge air outside is now just over 100 degrees. Does any of this make sense? Also, is this a permanent fix or is this a jury rig? Thanks for your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Issue with new central air unit-20200721_100328.jpg   Issue with new central air unit-20200721_100239_001.jpg  
rbucking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 10:09 AM   #29
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,447
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


Quote:
They said that it controlled a valve inside the plenum and modulated the amount of freon that moved through the coil. They said that it was only seeing cold temperatures while strapped to the large line and that caused the valve to stay partially closed. I asked if they had ever done that before and they said that in some cases where there isn't enough return air that this will happen.
Run!

You get what you pay for.

Completely wrong, great way to kill a compressor by over-feeding.

If the txv is under-feeding, it's out of adjustment (not all are adjustable), defective or not getting a solid column of liquid.

Or it's not under-feeding and there's low airflow.

Both conditions can cause freezing.
BayouRunner likes this.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.

Last edited by user_12345a; 07-21-2020 at 10:14 AM.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 10:12 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,840
Rewards Points: 724
Default

Re: Issue with new central air unit


And this is their permanent fix?
This company is a bunch of clueless hacks.
Turn off the air conditioner, it cannot be run like that.
They can’t figure out the lack of airflow so they are hacking the TXV to try and force it open. Absolutely nothing right about that.
user_12345a likes this.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
hvac , new unit , not cooling


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts