Installing A Nest E - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 05-22-2020, 03:12 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 519
Rewards Points: 894
Default

Re: Installing a nest E


So, the B terminal in your air handler is common. You need to find/run a wire from there to the thermostat C terminal. Or find/run a wire from the condensing unit where the B wire connects and to the thermostat C terminal.
57TinkerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2020, 03:17 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 57TinkerMan View Post
So, the B terminal in your air handler is common. You need to find/run a wire from there to the thermostat C terminal.
Yeah, I'm pretty sure this is the same brown wire, but I don't know what this black wire is that it is capped off with at the thermostat
Attached Thumbnails
Installing a nest E-img_20200522_131516_1590178596375.jpg   Installing a nest E-img_20200522_131535_1590178613430.jpg  
Cesiumxrs286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2020, 03:32 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Installing a nest E


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyorpay View Post
We need to agree what Brown and Black wires are that are twisted together at old thermostat. They are bypassing old thermostat and going elsewhere.
May be time for a meter reading to see which supplies 24V constant.

Suggest a pigtail from under cap (a third wire) same thickness if possible, to 'C' terminal on Nest.

Alternate method requires another transformer or bridge to supply 24V to Nest. We want to find it in existing wiring.

Yeah, I could use the cable the was the bridge on the y/w on the old thermostat, but would this effect whatever the black cable is doing?
Cesiumxrs286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2020, 04:02 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 942
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Re: Installing a nest E


I feel that's the one you want as 'C'.
I would pigtail it because if it goes off with the black to somewhere else (likely the compressor that also needs a 24V constant) it's still what you need at the thermostat.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2020, 04:04 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyorpay View Post
I feel that's the one you want as 'C'.
I would pigtail it because if it goes off with the black to somewhere else (likely the compressor that also needs a 24V constant) it's still what you need at the thermostat.
Going to try it out. Thanks for all your help!
Attached Thumbnails
Installing a nest E-img_20200522_135640_1590181406029.jpg  
Cesiumxrs286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2020, 04:13 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 942
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Re: Installing a nest E


Let us know how it goes.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2020, 05:23 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 519
Rewards Points: 894
Default

Re: Installing a nest E


Looks like you have a bunch of wires in the T-stat box. Maybe that's the junction you are looking for. Pull them out and see what you have, post pic.
57TinkerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2020, 07:13 PM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Installing a nest E


Alright!

It's on and it read the wires it seems like its working, BUT it feels like hot air when I press AC and cold air when I select heater???
Cesiumxrs286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2020, 08:46 PM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Fixed it. I just picked the wrong seating after heat pump. I picked B because that's what mines was but it's auto set to O. Switched it and we're good to go fam. No extra wires needed, no add a wire and no using the g wire. Got fully function heat, cold and fan! Thanks for all your help this was a fun DIY.
Attached Thumbnails
Installing a nest E-img_20200522_171542_mp_1590198376559.jpg  
Cesiumxrs286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts