Honeywell Vivsion Pro TH8320R1003 - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 09-06-2020, 07:02 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Honeywell vivsion pro TH8320R1003


Hello all,

Bought a honeywell vision pro specifically for humidity sensing/display only to find that there are 2 different models. The one I got does not display the humidity.

Short of returning this [to which I can't since I bought it on Kijiji] is there any way to show the humidity on this thermometer?

Is there a firmware update that can do this? I really want the humidity to display.

I also see I can buy an indoor sensor but for the life of me I cannot find out what it will show on the thermostat once connected. Will it show humidity on the display?

Lastly, I was able to get the thermostat installed but if I have an answered incorrectly in the setup, is there potential to damage my furnace? Better yet, what setting has this potential that I should be concerned with?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
NeedHelp14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2020, 07:08 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,428
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Re: Honeywell vivsion pro TH8320R1003


There are 2 models and no you cannot make the basic one show humidity.

The remote sensor is for the deluxe model only.

Sell it on Kijiji and buy the other one.

You cannot damage the furnace with a incorrect setup.

I would not buy a used thermostat as the average life of them is 10-15 years and that model can be that old. They can also get damage from being zapped by static electricity.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 09-06-2020 at 07:11 AM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2020, 09:47 AM   #3
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,442
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Re: Honeywell vivsion pro TH8320R1003


What's entire specific model number of the t-stat? It has to support redlink to support wireless sensors.

There are settings to change - cycles per hour, whether it's controlling a second stage of heat or not. The default cycles per hour is usually 5 or 6 which is very high, 3 is better.

Everything should be detailed in the manual.

Honeywell digital stats used to last 20+ years but this may have changed with reduced quality.

Edit: This unit appears to support redlink. Whether it supports humidity readout/control and will display, i don't know.

If all you need is display, just get a digital humidity/temp monitor, would be cheaper than a sensor.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.

Last edited by user_12345a; 09-06-2020 at 09:51 AM.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2020, 10:06 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 162
Default


Thanks...

As for selling it and purchasing another one including life span, well the unit I bought was brand new so no regrets on the quality and age of what I bought rather the model.

Also, the unit I have does support redlink(one of the reasons I bought it) and have researched the indoor motion sensor but it makes no mention what will be displayed on the thermostat.

As for buying a standalone hygrometer, well I did think of it originally but settled for this new thermostat.

Lastly, I don't know why the hype for this unit if it will do what all other thermostats do aside from the redlink. Too bad I can't get the humidity displayed as I would have hoped this could be done via firmware assuming this model has the sensor on the unit. I do see a firmware update on honeywella site but again, no mention of what it is updating.

thx
NeedHelp14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 10:28 AM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,428
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Re: Honeywell vivsion pro TH8320R1003


The hype is there is Honeywell, Emerson/White Rodgers and EcoBee competing for a HUGE market of people who want wi-fi and all the "latest technology" and have way too much money to spend.

There are more versions of these products than "Carter has little liver pills" or a dog has fleas and like I-phones they are pumping out new features and models every year to the point where no one can keep up with them.

Too make it even more confusing we now have 4 wire data Communicating thermostats and their Wi-Fi versions for all the major brands to keep track of.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 09-06-2020 at 10:30 AM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 10:42 AM   #6
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,442
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Re: Honeywell vivsion pro TH8320R1003


It may display humidity when paired with a sensor that has a humidity sensing element in it.

Not completely sure.

It is a very good stat though.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts