HONEYWELL Thermostat Wiring - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-29-2016, 07:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


I just bought a RTH221 honeywell thermostat to replace my old T6575D1009 model.
i am trying to connect wires, but i don't have the G wire.
i have blue and other wires.

can someone tell me how to do it correctly?

thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
HONEYWELL thermostat wiring-photo-2016-03-29-11-31-59-am.jpg   HONEYWELL thermostat wiring-photo-2016-03-29-8-43-36-pm.jpg  
morngon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2016, 12:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,124
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


1. You mounted the thermostat plate up side down.

2. Your old t-stat has atypical wiring for a unit with atypical controls. Going by letters could get you in deep trouble.

The way the unit it operates is most likely different from a basic 1 stage gas furnace/ac - the stat must be configured to energize the right terminals in each mode of operation.

For example most t-stats don't directly impact fan speed, yours does. In most setups G is the fan terminal - the fan speed selection is based on the mode of operation.
__________________
WARNING: I am not in the business of any trade or topic I give advise on. Follow the advice I post at your own risk. I only have previous diy experience plus good knowledge of theory.

Last edited by user_12345a; 03-30-2016 at 12:26 AM.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2016, 12:30 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,124
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


Best bet is to get the model number of the old stat and cross reference it. You won't find the right stat at a retail chain.
__________________
WARNING: I am not in the business of any trade or topic I give advise on. Follow the advice I post at your own risk. I only have previous diy experience plus good knowledge of theory.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2016, 04:55 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 37,808
Rewards Points: 7,418
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


Whoa, stop. Your old thermostat is a line voltage thermostat for fan coils. That new RTH221 is a low voltage/24 volt thermostat. Can't be used on your system.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (03-30-2016), supers05 (03-30-2016)
Old 03-30-2016, 06:10 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


What is wrong with the existing thermostat? There is a reason why Honeywell.com offers a "Find replacement" option on their website. If the current one is no longer working, you need the TB6575A1000/U from Honeywell to replace it. https://customer.honeywell.com/en-US...=TB6575A1000/U



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 06:14 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Whoa, stop. Your old thermostat is a line voltage thermostat for fan coils. That new RTH221 is a low voltage/24 volt thermostat. Can't be used on your system.
I am beginning to wonder if people just rip the packaging open and toss everything. There is a reason why they come with the books. Before I even install any thermostat for someone that asks me to do it for them, I an sitting with the book and either a cup of coffee or a beer to familiarize myself with it.

It is neat that of course Honeywell does have a great way for people that want to change their thermostat, to be able to find a match. I am thinking that the OP was walking around the Big Box and grabbed the first one.

When I stopped by the local Electrical warehouse this past week to pick up a new disco for my outdoor A/C unit, because of course you cannot just buy the guts, you have to buy the whole box. They had a whole three shelves of nothing but Honeywell Thermostats.



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 06:28 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,133
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
What is wrong with the existing thermostat? There is a reason why Honeywell.com offers a "Find replacement" option on their website. If the current one is no longer working, you need the TB6575A1000/U from Honeywell to replace it. https://customer.honeywell.com/en-US...=TB6575A1000/U
Why does that link not work? When I click on it I get an error message?

Sent from my LG-D415 using Tapatalk
jeffmattero76 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 06:41 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmattero76 View Post
Why does that link not work? When I click on it I get an error message?

Sent from my LG-D415 using Tapatalk
Probably because you are trying to access it from the Tapatalk app. Download Chrome if you do not already have it and set Tapatalk to use it, instead of the Tapatalk app for web browsing.



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
jeffmattero76 (03-30-2016)
Old 03-30-2016, 06:47 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,133
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


Thanks.

Sent from my LG-D415 using Tapatalk
jeffmattero76 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jeffmattero76 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (03-31-2016)
Old 03-30-2016, 07:21 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,133
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


While we are on thermostats... I have two gas hot air furnaces un my home and two Honeywell 7 day programmable thermostats that were installed by a local, well known hvac firm. When first installed by the owner, both t stats worked fine. The owner died and the son took over the business. The spn worked with the dad for a few years. In any case, after coming over to fo a checkup and repair, when i put the fan on ON rather than AUTO the blower does not turn on. I hadn't moticed it until months later since I only use that feature in the summer and the repair was done in October. Can you tell me which wire goes to which terminal on the board? At the t stat end everything seems to be wired correctly. The furnace is a Ruud.

Sent from my LG-D415 using Tapatalk
jeffmattero76 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 07:58 AM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 20,344
Rewards Points: 1,322
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


G is the wire that turns on the fan and may be broken at the board if it got bumped during the checkup. Check the G terminal/wire.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (03-31-2016), jeffmattero76 (03-30-2016)
Old 03-30-2016, 08:01 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,133
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


Thanks

Sent from my LG-D415 using Tapatalk
jeffmattero76 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 08:30 AM   #13
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 20,344
Rewards Points: 1,322
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


Yur Welcome
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2016, 07:07 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,133
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


Yuri to be clear the blower works as it should when in the AUTO position. However, when in the ON position it doesn't come on. Is that still the G wire?

Sent from my LG-D415 using Tapatalk
jeffmattero76 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2016, 07:56 AM   #15
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 20,344
Rewards Points: 1,322
Default

Re: HONEYWELL thermostat wiring


Yes. The Y wire turns on the AC and fan at the same time and the heat does the same.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a Honeywell RTH2300B thermostat to a gas furnace. Have the standard WYRG wiring. Devan813 Electrical 3 12-25-2011 05:19 PM
heat pump wiring problem - new thermostat tygrr94 HVAC 8 01-17-2011 08:18 PM
Replacing Honeywell thermostat with another Honeywell flipz HVAC 4 02-06-2010 04:19 PM
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 04:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts