Honeywell Prestige IAQ Firmware Changelog - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 09-18-2017, 11:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 622
Rewards Points: 1,236
Default

Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


Hi,

Does anyone know where to access the changelog? I'm currently running 03.02.00 but I see 03.04.05 is available.

Thx
bfletcher7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2017, 12:26 AM   #2
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 38,127
Rewards Points: 864
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


will this help?
https://thermostatsetup.honeywell.co...s/default.aspx
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2017, 09:10 AM   #3
FIDO...
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 331
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


Yeah, it's frustrating that they never post a change log!

A couple/few years ago, I contacted Honeywell about this, and basically got a shrug in response.

I check the update site (Neal linked to it above) every now & then... In my experience, Honeywell averages ~1 update per year, and usually post it sometime early in the calendar year.

I'm running the latest version, and as with every other one of these updates I've done, I haven't noticed any differences at all.

On the one hand, I guess that's a good thing... But if there are any new features or capabilities getting added, it would sure be great to know what those are!
Chris130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2017, 07:13 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 622
Rewards Points: 1,236
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


I own one of the Prestige stats but I'm currently running the Ecobee 3. There were a couple or three minor user interface interactions that irritated me but I'm not going to wire it up just to see if anything changed, lol.
bfletcher7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 02:17 PM   #5
FIDO...
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 331
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


Happened to check today and ver 04.00.00.00 is out now...

That's a pretty big version number jump from the previous one!

Gadzooks, I REALLY wish Honeywell would publish some sort of change-log for this stuff...

I'm about to do the update right now, but I have no idea what it brings to the fight... Arggh!
Chris130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 05:23 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 622
Rewards Points: 1,236
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


Just when I was able to let it go and stop pondering what changes may have been implemented you tease me with this, lol.
bfletcher7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 05:44 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,073
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


That's very typical for any industry outside of IT. More so for the HVAC arena. They will also be in the stone ages comparatively.

Don't forget however, 99% of users will never care what changed. They won't even care if they get an update, unless something was seriously broken.

Cheers!
Chris130 likes this.
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 02:09 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 622
Rewards Points: 1,236
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris130 View Post
I'm about to do the update right now, but I have no idea what it brings to the fight...
Of curiosity, does it still utilize a thumbwheel password entry mode? Obviously it didn't affect functionality but that drove me crazy rather than having a true numpad, lol.
bfletcher7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 05:40 AM   #9
FIDO...
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 331
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


Quote:
Originally Posted by supers05 View Post
That's very typical for any industry outside of IT. More so for the HVAC arena. They will also be in the stone ages comparatively.

Don't forget however, 99% of users will never care what changed. They won't even care if they get an update, unless something was seriously broken.

Cheers!
Indeed, you are spot-on with all of that!

Heck, I'd venture to say that nearly all owners of this system (resi or commercial) don't even know that the update capability exists at all and haven't ever done an update since the original install.

Honeywell doesn't offer any "push" delivery or even auto-notification of these updates when they come out (which isn't often - maybe once or twice a year), so they must not be anything major.

After I installed ver 4 yesterday afternoon, I went through a few menus to check it out, and I haven't notice any obvious differences so far.

Which is A-OK by me - this system has truly been flawless for me since I self-installed it years ago - I'm very happy with its reliability and performance.

But I'm a details nerd, so I likes me a nice change log when an update rolls out
Chris130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 05:47 AM   #10
FIDO...
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 331
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


Quote:
Originally Posted by bfletcher7 View Post
Of curiosity, does it still utilize a thumbwheel password entry mode? Obviously it didn't affect functionality but that drove me crazy rather than having a true numpad, lol.
Yep, that thumbwheel-style code-entry system is still in use
Chris130 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chris130 For This Useful Post:
bfletcher7 (10-06-2017)
Old 10-08-2019, 08:19 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


so i know this is an old thread.. but maybe someone has email notifications turned on.. I updated to 4.0 about a year ago I think.. nothing really changed that I could tell.. however, now - when I try to change the date / time, nothing happens when I touch that part of the screen. I know that part of the screen is good as it works in other menus.. its just that when I touch the date/time... its supposed to take me to the date / time adjust, but it has no effect.

anyone have any thoughts or is anyone who is on 4.0 have the same experience?

thanks
jimtressler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 12:38 PM   #12
FIDO...
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 331
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimtressler View Post
so i know this is an old thread.. but maybe someone has email notifications turned on.. I updated to 4.0 about a year ago I think.. nothing really changed that I could tell.. however, now - when I try to change the date / time, nothing happens when I touch that part of the screen. I know that part of the screen is good as it works in other menus.. its just that when I touch the date/time... its supposed to take me to the date / time adjust, but it has no effect.

anyone have any thoughts or is anyone who is on 4.0 have the same experience?

thanks
Just tried this (I'm on 4.0 too), and same experience - no response when pressed. Strange! I'll try sending them a message... I'm not holding my breath on a response, but who knows.
Chris130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 01:26 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


so heres what I did.. pulled it off the wall and removed the battery.. let it sit for 10 minutes.. reinstalled battery and put stat back on the wall.. came back saying battery needed replaced and wanted me to set date and time. then it said if you just installed the battery to ignore the battery message. I set the date and time. It also retained all of the programming and the online tcc portal still works. For the past 2 days I have been able to touch date and time and it was worked.. so maybe that did it.. but I suspect I will lose access to it again at some point.
jimtressler is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jimtressler For This Useful Post:
Chris130 (10-10-2019)
Old 10-10-2019, 02:16 PM   #14
FIDO...
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 331
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


That worked for me too - thanks for the tip! Good to know for future use.

If I ever hear back from my message to HW, I'll update the thread here.

Thanks!
Chris130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 12:27 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Re: Honeywell Prestige IAQ firmware changelog


actually heard back from honeywell / resiedo.. and their solution was what I did.. but what was interesting.. I am connected via the redlink and my account info is correct.. so perhaps something on 04.00.00.00 caused the issue and a reboot fixed it...

"Thank you for the response. This thermostat has the ability to connect to the internet using the RedLINK Internet Gateway. If you are using this feature, the time is set automatically based on your My Total Connect Comfort account settings.

If you are not using the internet gateway, then it is possible that a gateway was connected to the thermostat in the past and that this connection needs to be cleared. To start, if you remove the thermostat from the wall you should see a coin cell battery in the back of the thermostat. Please remove this battery for 30 seconds; after re-inserting the battery and placing the thermostat on the wall you should now be able to change the time. If you are still unable to change the time, please reply to this email.

Thank you,



Resideo Customer Care
jimtressler is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jimtressler For This Useful Post:
Chris130 (10-16-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manually setting ISU parameters: Honeywell Prestige 2 iaq Bob Sanders HVAC 5 06-12-2016 10:53 AM
Honeywell Prestige 2.0 timroswell HVAC 1 04-13-2014 02:31 PM
short cycling a/c with honeywell prestige jsweney HVAC 13 09-24-2012 04:14 AM
Honeywell Prestige HD vs Prestige HD IAQ locus123 HVAC 3 09-27-2010 10:32 AM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-09-2010 11:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts