Goodman 3t Gas Unit Not Blowing - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 04-01-2020, 06:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Goodman 3t gas unit not blowing


What could be the culprit? Something i can find and fix tonight or hvac tech need to be called? I can hear kind of a whirr sound from inside but theres no movement from the fan outside. It does move, however. Quiet freely, in fact. Fuse outside appears good and the breaker inside is good and has been reset. Not a new install so there are no wiring issues with the thermostat. Relay? Capacitor? Help?

TYIA
-Jamie
Jamiecapps is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2020, 06:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,850
Rewards Points: 748
Default

Re: Goodman 3t gas unit not blowing


So the compressor is starting but not the condenser fan?
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2020, 07:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Goodman 3t gas unit not blowing


Assuming that is the whirr sound, yes.
Jamiecapps is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2020, 07:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,850
Rewards Points: 748
Default

Re: Goodman 3t gas unit not blowing


Test the capacitor. If ok test line voltage to the motor. If ok the motor is likely failed.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 07:51 PM   #5
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,465
Rewards Points: 88
Default

Re: Goodman 3t gas unit not blowing


You can also ohm out the fan motor to see if there's a open winding.

Look up how.

Motors fail mechanically or electrically.

Trying to start on a bad capacitor can damage the motor's windings (not to mention compressor damage running without the fan motor) so turn it off until this is resolved.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 08:15 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Goodman 3t gas unit not blowing


So, i may have a thermostat problem. Before i saw yohr reply, i tapped the thermostat with my finger. Started blowing. Great! Its blowing cold air, tho. Gas meter is showing usage. I am genuinely perperplexed. 57 is the current temp on the floor that unit heats/cools.
Jamiecapps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 08:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,850
Rewards Points: 748
Default

Re: Goodman 3t gas unit not blowing


So are you trying to heat or cool?
Outdoor fan isn’t going to run if your unit is gas fired. It’s only used in cooling mode.
What is it not doing?
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 08:21 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Goodman 3t gas unit not blowing


Yeah......duh! My bad. Its not heating. I assumed the fan ran to force air thru the unit. HVAC is definitely not my area of knowledge. It wasnt blowing any air until i pecked on the thermostat. Now, just blows cold air.
Jamiecapps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 08:24 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,850
Rewards Points: 748
Default

Re: Goodman 3t gas unit not blowing


So what is the model number of this unit?
What error code is being displayed?
What point of the ignition sequence is failing?
If your unsure of how your unit works and functions it may be worth while to have a tech look at the unit and tech you about it.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2020, 10:32 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,850
Rewards Points: 748
Default

Re: Goodman 3t gas unit not blowing


Any updates OP?
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts