Furnace Not Working Correctly - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 01-18-2020, 11:29 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Furnace not working correctly


Hello, I have a Heil 7000 furnace that hasnít been working right. Of course it is a weekend so Iíd rather not call anyone to pay weekend rates. I have done some basic troubleshooting but does anyone know of a good website that has a systematic way to troubleshoot?

The induction fan comes on, flames will light, blower fan blows then blows, then after about 45 seconds the flames will go out and the blower will run for a minute or so. After the blower shuts off I can hear an electrical humm but canít find where it is coming from. After about 5 minutes itíll repeat the process.

There doesnít appear to be a flame sensor that I can find on this model. The igniter is working fine, the induction blower is working fine (I did change this about about 2 weeks ago because the old one sounded like it was going to explode, so that could be related). I sucked on the pressure switch and checked for continuity and it worked, however there was a drop of water that came out when I disconnected the line from the induction fan housing. I blew the line out. Reconnected it and then the furnace ran for a couple of minutes so I wonder why that changed. After that first cycle it went back to the roughly 45 seconds of working.

I suspect something with the pressure switch but I donít know. Is there a good troubleshooting chart somewhere to run through this?

Thanks
epeterson777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2020, 11:43 AM   #2
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,464
Rewards Points: 86
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


Check voltage drop across the pressure switch when the heat is on and see if it drops out just before the burners do.

Does your furnace have a honeywell smart valve? Igniter plugged into the valve, hot surface pilot ignition?



If yes, post the number off the valve.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2020, 11:56 AM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,453
Rewards Points: 212
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


Post some pics of the furnace with both doors off.

There are dozens of versions and models of Heil furnaces out there.

Go Advanced> Manage attachments
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2020, 12:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


I checked for voltage at the pressure switch earlier, and it seem to go at the exact same time as the burners went out. I didnít notice it going outside it before. It does not have a Honeywell smart valve. It is pretty old. I think itís 22 years old.

I will try to get some pictures with the lower panel off later. It started working again now so I donít dare take the lower door off and trip the safety switch in case it starts to act up again.

I have a thermostat programmed to go down at night. This morning was the second time this week that it has acted up. It seems like itís struggles to pick up in the morning when the demand is put back on it.
Attached Thumbnails
Furnace not working correctly-895090c2-8f2d-46ba-af16-8c731a62b442.jpeg  
epeterson777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 12:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,846
Rewards Points: 740
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


What’s the model number? 7000 is just a model line.
Does that furnace have a diagnostic light?
Do you have a meter?
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 12:37 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,453
Rewards Points: 212
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


Make a video of it when it starts up when cold and post it on You Tube and link it here.

There are no diagnostics for that unit and it is closer to 30+ yrs old. Has the original Honeywell S86 control with the combo pilot burner with electrode and flame sensor as one.

There are no flow charts for it that I have seen and I worked on hundreds of them. Most are obsolete where I am as the cost of repairs is too high. especially with that inducer blower.

Try find where the thermostat wires attach on a terminal strip in the blower compartment. Remove and label them. Then put a jumper between R and W and press the door switch in and see how long it runs.

If it keeps running then your thermostat/tstat is faulty.
surferdude2 likes this.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 01:29 PM   #7
Member
 
surferdude2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Southern Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,963
Rewards Points: 932
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


Did you change the entire inducer assembly or just get an aftermarket motor and fan cage? If not complete assembly, verify the fan rotation matches that volute direction.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then...I'm younger than that now
surferdude2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 03:18 PM   #8
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,464
Rewards Points: 86
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


Pretty simple controls setup to troubleshoot, much better than the smart valve - just use your meter.

pressure switch diagnostics would need a manometer.

post a clear pic of the schematic - it's on the blower access panel facing in in most cases.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 05:39 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


I jumpered the W and R terminals and ruled out the thermostat. It is very intermittent now so I tried to get a video of the cold start to failure but of course then it ran normal.

When I changed the induction motor it was the whole assembly including the fan and housing.

I did catch this video earlier of an electrical spark that relates to it shutting down. You can see that spark, when that happens it shuts the flames and induction motor off and then the blower will run for a little while and then it shuts down.


I took some better pictures of the unit including the schematic. I do have a meter and I have a manometer at work. I just lack the basic understanding of how all the components relate and sequence with each other.

Rather than hire someone to fix this issue, I have decided I am going to limp it along until I can get a new furnace installed since it is so old and the burners look pretty rough. I have a gas fireplace that can maintain the temp in the house. Of course this crap happens when we arenít supposed to get above 0 for the next couple of days so if I can find a fix to get me through a week or so until I can get a new one that would help.
Attached Thumbnails
Furnace not working correctly-f7b4c0a2-acb0-48e3-b009-5d59c04d3134.jpeg   Furnace not working correctly-38478a03-69ce-4b8b-82eb-5ba7a988481e.jpeg   Furnace not working correctly-18a5cb8f-39ad-4763-84cb-bba67038106c.jpeg  
epeterson777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 05:45 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,846
Rewards Points: 740
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


Is your fireplace ventless or vented?
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 05:54 PM   #11
Member
 
surferdude2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Southern Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,963
Rewards Points: 932
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


That looks like it might be the flue temperature limit switch arcing as it opens due to high temp but wait for yuri to verify, he'll know that location.

I think the flue temp switch is located down lower (maybe even on the blower housing) so that flash may be misleading. If it happened as the fan went off, it might have been the normal fan relay contacts flashing or the normal system relay contacts flashing.

Even so, the flue temp switch cutting out is still the prime suspect. Have you checked the flue for any obstructions? Might just be a bird nest or something. Ice and snow can also plug it.

Certainly fits the symptoms but so does other things.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then...I'm younger than that now

Last edited by surferdude2; 01-18-2020 at 06:19 PM.
surferdude2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 06:00 PM   #12
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,464
Rewards Points: 86
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


Did you change the inducer before or after this problem started?

Does the the inducer stay on when the burner drops out?

I believe the white box where it sparked is the system relay and it energizes the inducer and separately, the ignition module.

I can verify if you give me the data off that box.

You should check the connections.

The arching could indicate a bad connection - i would check.

Also very possible that there's an internal problem - connection or otherwise.

When there's a call for heat, the system relay gets energized.

One side of the relay passes power to the ventor power and the pressure switch closes

The other passes control voltage to the ignition module through the pressure switch.

The ignition module applies power to the pilot valve and powers the spark igniter. When a pilot flame is detected, it applies power to the main valve.

If flame is lost, it closes the pilot and main valve and goes through the ignition sequence again.

When the pressure switch opens up, power to the ignition module gets dropped and the inducer stays on.

The fan control detects when the valve is energized and starts a timer -> after the time delay, it applies power to the blower which passes through the normally closed parts of the fan relay and to the heating speed tap on the motor.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.

Last edited by user_12345a; 01-18-2020 at 06:05 PM.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 07:51 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


I changed the inducer about 2-3 weeks ago and it was working fine until a couple of days ago. I still have the old one so I might put that in for troubleshooting purposes and if it works I can live with how noisy it is until I get a new furnace.

The furnace seems to be acting different now. It will all fire up like before but now everything (blowers and flames) is shutting off at the same time. Which seems odd to me since I figured the blower would keep running to cool things down but now it is shutting off as well.

I’ll check the flue for obstructions soon and report back.
epeterson777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 09:59 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


Problem Solved!!

There is a bad connection or some issue with the white box where the spark was. I wiggled the wire bundle going to it and it sprung to life and kept running as normal. Due to the intermittent ness of this problem I’m going to monitor it for a while. All of the connections are tight so I’m assuming that terminal is probably loose or screwed up internally and me changing that inducer assy. and messing around in there must have moved the wire just enough to make the problem show up. I feel like an idiot for not wiggling playing with those wires sooner, however with the symptoms, I was thrown off.

Now that I am not going to be forced into buying a furnace immediately, I can do it this spring or summer when it isn’t subzero outside. With that being said, I am a very mechanical person and always prefer to do things myself, is installing a furnace something that a person with decent mechanical skill can tackle or are there too many code considerations to worry about? The thought of CO or gas issues does concern me. My thoughts are if I did it I would hire someone to come look it over and make sure everything is good. Thoughts?
epeterson777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 10:00 PM   #15
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,464
Rewards Points: 86
Default

Re: Furnace not working correctly


I suggest fixing the connection - replacing the component if required.

The heat exchanger could be cracked and that should be checked asap - easy if you don't have a/c coil right above, can be inspected from the top.

Much harder otherwise.

Replacing a furnace is not close to diy friendly unless you really study up on the theory and am comfortable with sheet metal work, gas lines, etc. Proper sizing and commissioning are very important.

I really suck with sheet metal so I wouldn't go the diy route despite knowing the theory.

Older furnaces can be more reliable than the new ones, yours is already high efficiency so I wouldn't rush to replace unless something is wrong that's not worth fixing.

The new ones are made as cheap as possible and won't last 30 years. 20 if you're lucky!
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.

Last edited by user_12345a; 01-18-2020 at 10:06 PM.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts