Fan Speed Question - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 01-26-2020, 12:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Fan speed question


I'm not confident that my installer properly chose the correct fan speeds for my system. After reading through the installation manual it seems that this is a scientific process. I do know that he didn't use any test equipment when selecting what fan speeds to choose. From what I've been reading on the web, this is pretty important. I was thinking about having one of the local contractors come out to check it. What would be considered a reasonable cost for this service? It's a Carrier gas pack package unit with unrestricted access.
Thanks.
Thick8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2020, 12:45 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,844
Rewards Points: 736
Default

Re: Fan speed question


Cost can be a very regional subject, but a couple hours labor should be the minimum expected.
Heat rise, static pressure, TESP, input and manifold gas pressure, and clocking the gas meter should be done.
Commissioning is VERY important to determining how well the unit performs and operates.
Just imagine, instead of Ford selling a whole car to a dealer they sold the parts. And the tech put it together without checking things like tire pressure, oil level or any other critical measurement. Wouldn’t run to well, would it?
The trade is suffering greatly from a lack of skilled talent these days. Most times guys want to, or are forced to, speed through things with little regard to details and measurements.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2020, 01:19 PM   #3
Usually Confused
 
lenaitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,467
Rewards Points: 74
Default

Re: Fan speed question


I had a similar problem with a new furnace installed last spring. Heat speeds were fine but when it came time for a/c, the fan would blow the cat down the stairs. They came by and adjusted it no charge. As far as I'm concerned (and they obviously felt the same way) it's part of the commissioning process. The tech grizzled about the installer not doing his job. I don't really care, they made it right. If it's a recent install, give them a call.
__________________
_________________________________

Parati vero parati
lenaitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2020, 02:09 PM   #4
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,453
Rewards Points: 64
Default

Re: Fan speed question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thick8 View Post
I'm not confident that my installer properly chose the correct fan speeds for my system. After reading through the installation manual it seems that this is a scientific process. I do know that he didn't use any test equipment when selecting what fan speeds to choose. From what I've been reading on the web, this is pretty important. I was thinking about having one of the local contractors come out to check it. What would be considered a reasonable cost for this service? It's a Carrier gas pack package unit with unrestricted access.
Thanks.
If your furnace has a fully featured variable speed blower, heating speed adjustments should not be necessary as it automatically compensates for duct pressure.

With a gas pack, the a/c size is known so it should ship set correctly as well for the tonnage of cooling.

This is not to say performance shouldn't be verified.

Other blower motor types need to be manually set up.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts