Erie SR-601 Goes To Sleep - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 12-06-2018, 02:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Erie SR-601 Goes to Sleep


Hi all!

Newbie here hoping you all can help me out. I am stuck with a problem.

So I moved into a 15 year old house a number of months back and have run into some issues with my furnace and thermostats.

My furnace is oil fired, Buderus Logano G115, which has 4 zones and separate hot water unit. The zone relay is an Erie SR-601.

I hooked Nest thermostats for each zone using the 3 wired approach (R, W and Common). This works as expected.....most of the time.

The problem is this. It's like the relay goes to sleep every so often. Like the lights are off in the relay, it looks to be dead. But the 120v is still coming into the unit. I tested the terminals during this time and the voltage is low across the board. Of course this means the Nests have a problem and complain about no power. Then later the power comes back on and they work again.

It seems to happen at random times and I am lost as to why this would happen. Any ideas from the community?

Another point to make is that the Buderus is set to automatic, so wondering does this mess with the relay. At this point i feel the next step is a new relay. But I don't wan't to go that extreme unless I am sure it will fix the problem.

Thank you in advance!
lemoncolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2018, 10:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Erie SR-601 Goes to Sleep


Quote:
Originally Posted by lemoncolly View Post
Hi all!

Newbie here hoping you all can help me out. I am stuck with a problem.

So I moved into a 15 year old house a number of months back and have run into some issues with my furnace and thermostats.

My furnace is oil fired, Buderus Logano G115, which has 4 zones and separate hot water unit. The zone relay is an Erie SR-601.

I hooked Nest thermostats for each zone using the 3 wired approach (R, W and Common). This works as expected.....most of the time.

The problem is this. It's like the relay goes to sleep every so often. Like the lights are off in the relay, it looks to be dead. But the 120v is still coming into the unit. I tested the terminals during this time and the voltage is low across the board. Of course this means the Nests have a problem and complain about no power. Then later the power comes back on and they work again.

It seems to happen at random times and I am lost as to why this would happen. Any ideas from the community?

Another point to make is that the Buderus is set to automatic, so wondering does this mess with the relay. At this point i feel the next step is a new relay. But I don't wan't to go that extreme unless I am sure it will fix the problem.

Thank you in advance!
How many nest thermostats? You've probably over loaded the transformer. They weren't designed to handle smart thermostats.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2018, 10:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Erie SR-601 Goes to Sleep


That was a mission... For some stupid reason, nest doesn't make it easy to find the VA requirements for their products. The best I've found was their suggestion to use a 220ohm resister, which equates to 2.62VA. ....

The Erie SR601 only has a 25VA transformer. The SR201 and SR301 have a 15VA transformer. (apparently rated at 6VA max per thermostat.)

It should be fine, but I think that they can spike in power consumption at times. Such as battery charging and updating. They may all do this at the same time. You need a few VA for the relays. (roughly 0.7 - 3VA depending on the model. Erie mentions 2.8VA but that does seem a bit high.) So that limits the thermostats to roughly 1.3 - 2.8VA each, if you're using 6 thermostats. That's pretty close.

You may require a second transformer. (a fused 120Vac to 24Vac, 40VA transformer is very common and cheap.)

You can test this theory by removing one of the stats from the base and see if the erie board continues to function.

Cheers!

Last edited by supers05; 12-06-2018 at 11:05 PM.
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2018, 10:49 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 12
Default


Dude, thank you so much for this. I was totally stumped.

I have 4 running so would totally make sense. I’ll look into adding the new transformer.

Would you happen to have a link to the one you mentioned? I did some looking online too but don’t want to get the wrong one.

Thanks again!
lemoncolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 11:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Erie SR-601 Goes to Sleep


Quote:
Originally Posted by lemoncolly View Post
Dude, thank you so much for this. I was totally stumped.

I have 4 running so would totally make sense. Iíll look into adding the new transformer.

Would you happen to have a link to the one you mentioned? I did some looking online too but donít want to get the wrong one.

Thanks again!
Try disconnecting one of the nests, and see if that helps. Only after that, adding the transformer will make sense.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
buderus , erie , nest , relay , zone


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sleep Apnea machine Gregsoldtruck79 Off Topic 63 04-30-2019 07:56 AM
Getting sleep mode to work on a MSI 7 user_12345a PC Repairs & Upgrades 6 09-19-2017 07:01 PM
Can't Sleep? gma2rjc Off Topic 17 05-25-2017 03:52 AM
New Thermostats for House - No Power from C Wire on Erie SR-601 Board - Help! Elm1and2 HVAC 9 04-03-2016 11:16 AM
Very worried about drilling through material (possibly gas pipe). Can't sleep. sooner2k1 Carpentry 7 01-11-2008 08:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts