Erie SR-601 Goes To Sleep - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-06-2018, 02:37 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 12

Erie SR-601 Goes to Sleep

Hi all!

Newbie here hoping you all can help me out. I am stuck with a problem.

So I moved into a 15 year old house a number of months back and have run into some issues with my furnace and thermostats.

My furnace is oil fired, Buderus Logano G115, which has 4 zones and separate hot water unit. The zone relay is an Erie SR-601.

I hooked Nest thermostats for each zone using the 3 wired approach (R, W and Common). This works as expected.....most of the time.

The problem is this. It's like the relay goes to sleep every so often. Like the lights are off in the relay, it looks to be dead. But the 120v is still coming into the unit. I tested the terminals during this time and the voltage is low across the board. Of course this means the Nests have a problem and complain about no power. Then later the power comes back on and they work again.

It seems to happen at random times and I am lost as to why this would happen. Any ideas from the community?

Another point to make is that the Buderus is set to automatic, so wondering does this mess with the relay. At this point i feel the next step is a new relay. But I don't wan't to go that extreme unless I am sure it will fix the problem.

Thank you in advance!
lemoncolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-06-2018, 10:10 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 80

Re: Erie SR-601 Goes to Sleep

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemoncolly View Post
Hi all!

Newbie here hoping you all can help me out. I am stuck with a problem.

So I moved into a 15 year old house a number of months back and have run into some issues with my furnace and thermostats.