Electric Boiler...is My Pressure Too Low? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-06-2018, 11:25 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 21
Default


Seems like I have to put my heat up to at least 70 degrees to get radiator in attic warm. My boiler is showing 10 PSI when it's running or sitting idle. Too low? How do I increase it? Picture provided, do I turn that screw on top to increase PSI? Counter-clockwise?
Attached Thumbnails
Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?-img_20180106_122336784_1515259558889.jpg  
489537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2018, 12:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Missouri
Posts: 540
Rewards Points: 1,080
Default

Re: Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?


On a PRV turn clockwise to increase pressure.
Wilbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2018, 12:13 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 21
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilbits View Post
On a PRV turn clockwise to increase pressure.
In the picture provided, is that even the right thing I took a picture of? It's as simple as turning that screw on top? While the boiler is running? Here it is from another angle.
Attached Thumbnails
Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?-img_20180106_122329083_1515262605499.jpg  

Last edited by 489537; 01-06-2018 at 12:17 PM.
489537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2018, 12:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Missouri
Posts: 540
Rewards Points: 1,080
Default

Re: Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?


The only thing I can tell is it's a PRV. Can you post pics from further back ?
Wilbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 01:35 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 37,810
Rewards Points: 7,422
Default

Re: Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?


Loosen nut, turn screw in, wait to see if pressure rises to whee you want, if not, turn in further, if it did. Tighten nut.

Raise the pressure to between 15 and 18 PSIG.
supers05 likes this.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 01:37 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 21
Default


Here's some pictures of below the boiler, side of it, and top of it. If someone can please tell me which thing would increase the PSI. Another question, should the PSI still show 10 even when it's not running?
Attached Thumbnails
Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?-img_20180106_142635607_1515267415959.jpg   Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?-img_20180106_142644463_1515267427910.jpg   Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?-img_20180106_142650787_1515267442650.jpg  
489537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 01:38 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 21
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Loosen nut, turn screw in, wait to see if pressure rises to whee you want, if not, turn in further, if it did. Tighten nut.

Raise the pressure to between 15 and 18 PSIG.
Should that be done when it's running or when it's sitting idle?
489537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 02:38 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 21
Default


I'm looking at the nut and screw. The screw is already turned all the way clockwise and when I try to loosen the nut the screw turns as well. It looks like the screw and nut are one piece?
489537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 04:53 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 21
Default


Can anyone please help with this?
489537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 08:18 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 37,810
Rewards Points: 7,422
Default

Re: Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?


Put screw driver in screw slot, use it as a hold back, while you loosen the nut.
supers05 likes this.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 08:38 PM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 21
Default


What about that lever on the side? Should that be moved? It says Fast Fill. Is that in the proper position?

Thanks for any help guys.
489537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 09:47 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 37,810
Rewards Points: 7,422
Default

Re: Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?


Can't tell from pic.

In the fast fill position. It simply pushes the valve open, until it moved back to the auto position.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 06:47 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,037
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

Re: Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?


Hey, dumb question from a non-HVAC guy here: Is increasing the pressure going to help the circulator increase flow to the attic?

It seems to me you can think of it as the cirulator sort of creating a differential pressure; suction before and pressure after the pump. It would seem that it's the difference in pressure which moves the water.

Am I missing something?
CaptTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 07:17 AM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 37,810
Rewards Points: 7,422
Default

Re: Electric boiler...is my pressure too low?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptTom View Post
Hey, dumb question from a non-HVAC guy here: Is increasing the pressure going to help the circulator increase flow to the attic?

It seems to me you can think of it as the cirulator sort of creating a differential pressure; suction before and pressure after the pump. It would seem that it's the difference in pressure which moves the water.

Am I missing something?
A circulator is not a pump. It can only move water if the water is already there.

The OP's water pressure is low, so the water's column height is low, and not allowing the water to move in the attic rad. Its a very common problem.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
CaptTom (01-07-2018)
Old 01-07-2018, 08:04 AM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 21
Default


Been there, I sent you a private message if you could help me further. Thank you.
489537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Well Problem Pump or Pressure switch? volleybiggs Plumbing 3 12-31-2017 09:34 AM
Suspect Electric boiler causing brownout crankcase Electrical 4 11-06-2012 01:41 AM
Slantfin Galaxy Boiler Pressure Mystery chiefswabjockey HVAC 18 11-15-2011 05:37 PM
Hydronic boiler pressure question. RickInMissouri HVAC 1 01-23-2010 04:57 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts