EAC Terminal Voltage Trane S9v2 - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 12-30-2018, 12:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

EAC terminal voltage Trane S9v2


I have a new Trane S9V2 and am installing a Aprilaire 5000 electronic air cleaner. The S9V2 manual says the EAC terminal on the control board is 120V max 1Amp. When I turn on the fan I do not meassure 120V across the two EAC tabs. Tabes are numbered E8 and E10 located at the top left.

Is one a neutral tab a and other line, if so which is line.
Should I be measuring 120V AC when the fan is running?
Looking to hook up the outlet for the Aprilaire 5000.
dstock66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2018, 12:30 PM   #2
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,475
Rewards Points: 108
Default

Re: EAC terminal voltage Trane S9v2


There should be 120v between eac terminals with the blower on.

Yes one would be neutral, one would be hot.

The installer should have left all the literature with you -> the install manual should have info on hooking up an eac.

Be sure to mark the plug you installed "air cleaner only" because if someone plugs in something that draws too much current, the board could be damaged.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2020, 04:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 2
Default


Any luck on this EAC. I have a new trane s9v2 Wanting to connect a relay for a booster fan. I'm not getting any voltage on the eac terminals.

My relay can take 24v or 120v as a trigger. I thought the eac was the easy spot but I'm not getting power whilE the fan is running.
Thechevyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2020, 07:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 918
Default

Re: EAC terminal voltage Trane S9v2


Apparently the HUM and EAC terminals are dry contacts. You can verify this with an ohm meter. Switch should be closed when fan running and open when fan is off. You can provide a jumper from L1 connection to one side of the switch and connect your EAC. Common from EAC back to common on furnace.

Name:  Dry.png
Views: 14
Size:  181.7 KB

Last edited by 57TinkerMan; 08-23-2020 at 07:05 PM.
57TinkerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 07:24 PM   #5
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,475
Rewards Points: 108
Default

Re: EAC terminal voltage Trane S9v2


don't waste your time/money with booster fans.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 07:36 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 918
Default

Re: EAC terminal voltage Trane S9v2


A bit more helpful, maybe.


EAC terminal voltage Trane S9v2-dry1.png
57TinkerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 07:50 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 2
Default


Thank you! I'll take a look and test this out.

The booster fan was already installed when we bought the house. It's on a manual switch in the bonus room above the garage. It does a good job so I plan to run a relay of the furnace so it can only run while the system is on.
Thechevyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
trane s9v2 eac hvac


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Voltage Regulator/Stabilizers ThePeck Electrical 1 06-08-2014 09:33 PM
voltage on earth wire Spikeyboy Electrical 13 10-15-2010 11:03 AM
Voltage in Metal Roof and Gutters TITAN2390 Electrical 4 10-07-2010 07:44 PM
"G" terminal on Tstats javan HVAC 8 02-08-2009 02:16 PM
2 - 900w tansformers on a 15A circuit? tonyBagadonuts Electrical 19 07-20-2008 07:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts