Downflow To Upflow - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 04-22-2020, 01:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 3
Default

Downflow to upflow


I have an air handler that had the option to be installed as an upflow or downflow. It was installed a few years back as a downflow and I would like to change it to an upflow.
Tapgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2020, 02:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,850
Rewards Points: 748
Default

Re: Downflow to upflow


Are you going to reverse your duct work?
roughneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2020, 04:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 3
Default


I am planning to running new ductwork. The old ductwork is falling apart which means I am just air conditioning my crawl space.
Tapgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2020, 08:23 PM   #4
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 649
Rewards Points: 1,028
Default

Re: Downflow to upflow


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tapgar View Post
I have an air handler that had the option to be installed as an upflow or downflow. It was installed a few years back as a downflow and I would like to change it to an upflow.
Great! So what's your question?
sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2020, 10:47 PM   #5
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,466
Rewards Points: 90
Default

Re: Downflow to upflow


the manufacturer should have specific instructions in the install manual for converting - probably to do with drain lines/pan and coil orientation.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts