Do I Have A Prob? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By yuri

Old 09-16-2020, 08:09 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 20

Do I have a prob?

Here's the scenario: I'm a retired Mstr Electrician. I've done my share of HVAC ckt tracing and minor repair but I'm certainly not an HVAC pro. The heat in my house is gas. Turned it on for the first time this AM. The house was about 4 below the Tstat setting so it came on. It ran about 15 mi then it stopped blowing heat but the fan was still on (flame was out). The LED code from the control board was 'Limit Switch Open'. System has 2, Hi Limit & Aux Limit.
I let it run 5 min or so (but still no heat) then turned off the breaker, checked the schematic and checked pin to pin on the Molex plug (also checked each switch separately). At this point the ckt was closed (<2 Ω). I put it all back together and now it seems to be working properly.
So the questions: Do I have a prob or is it not unusual for a switch to hang up after being off for 5 months? I did remove the connectors from both switches to check them, could this have cleared any oxidation and reestablished the connections? Should I routinely change the two limits? The Hi limit appears to be original (16 yrs or so) but the aux limit has been changed at least once.
Opinions/comments?
stevemiller000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-16-2020, 08:18 AM   #2
Hvac Pro

Rewards Points: 240

Re: Do I have a prob?

Post the brand name and model # of the furnace.

Is it a counterflow/reverse flow unit with the air blowing down under the furnace and into a crawlspace?

Aux limits should never get used except when the furnace fan fails so I wonder why yours fail? If they fail from vibration from being on the side of the fan that could be a issue and yeah replace it.