Condensate Drain Pan Not Working Properly - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-21-2020, 03:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 6
Default

Condensate Drain Pan not working properly


Hey I have a supco cp804hd about 3 years old but doesn't work go good anymore , any way to clean it?
Any better replacement I can buy for it ?
Bkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2020, 03:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 918
Default

Re: Condensate Drain Pan not working properly


What are you using this on? This type of pan is costly to operate, any possibility of installing a condensate pump? Much cheaper.
57TinkerMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2020, 03:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 6
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 57TinkerMan View Post
What are you using this on? This type of pan is costly to operate, any possibility of installing a condensate pump? Much cheaper.
3 ac units 0.5+0.5+1.5HS not all used at the same time , was originally installed ( not by me )
No drain nearby unfortunately .
And I'm very limited with space I attached a picture . If you have any idea please let me know
Attached Thumbnails
Condensate Drain Pan not working properly-15953636334642124552734709613774_1595363641950.jpg  
Bkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2020, 03:45 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 918
Default

Re: Condensate Drain Pan not working properly


Is it possible to route 3/8" id plastic tubing from the current pan location to a drain/sink/garden etc., it does not have to be close by.
57TinkerMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 03:57 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 6
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 57TinkerMan View Post
Is it possible to route 3/8" id plastic tubing from the current pan location to a drain/sink/garden etc., it does not have to be close by.
Looked all over nothing that I can drain it too unless I run some pipes into the house and that's not an option .
Bkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 918
Default

Re: Condensate Drain Pan not working properly


Is the outdoor unit on a balcony? Condo installation?
57TinkerMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:09 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 6
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 57TinkerMan View Post
Is the outdoor unit on a balcony? Condo installation?
Yes balcony , no gutter or any drain that I could connect to.
But yes everything is connected outdoors
Bkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 918
Default

Re: Condensate Drain Pan not working properly


Do your neighbors appreciate art? Looking at your picture of the pan, it doesn't look too bad. What's the current problem with it?



Condensate Drain Pan not working properly-piss.png
57TinkerMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:24 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 6
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 57TinkerMan View Post
Do your neighbors appreciate art?[IMG class=inlineimg]https://www.diychatroom.com/images/smilies/biggrin.png[/IMG] Looking at your picture of the pan, it doesn't look too bad. What's the current problem with it?



Attachment 608057
LOL !!! Well first I'm not sure if it's sufficient for the AC units I have and it's over flowing , gets hot and makes some vape but overflowing
Bkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:40 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 918
Default

Re: Condensate Drain Pan not working properly


The Supco pan is rated for 8 gallons a day. Typically used for smaller commercial refrigeration units. I assume it worked ok before. If so, you can purchase a replacement element, probably a lot cheaper than a new unit. Note that the link shows a 230V element, don't know if Supco made a 115V model. Not sure who to buy it through, might have to contact Supco.


https://www.supco.com/web/supco_live...804HD-240.html
57TinkerMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:45 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 918
Default

Re: Condensate Drain Pan not working properly


If your not sure your pan ever worked correctly, here's a link to higher capacity pans for A/C units.


https://www.briskheat.com/anti-conde...vaporator-pans
57TinkerMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:59 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 6
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 57TinkerMan View Post
If your not sure your pan ever worked correctly, here's a link to higher capacity pans for A/C units.


https://www.briskheat.com/anti-conde...vaporator-pans
Thank you for the links but as you can see I have a very tight space to work in I wish I could fit in a bigger pan, I have two pipes that I'm draining into that pan I was thinking about double decking them one on top of the other I can rig some kind of Mount and have one drain for each pipe the only thing I'm concerned about is they 120v 1000w 8.3 amps and have only 1 dual outlet you think it would be too much on the electrical side of things? I know the worst that could happen is the breaker would fail or turn off every now and then but I'm really afraid of the wires melting we're getting too hot ,what would be your opinion?
Bkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 06:31 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 918
Default

Re: Condensate Drain Pan not working properly


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkboy View Post
...what would be your opinion?

Sounds like you stuck with what you have. You mentioned that when the heater element is on you only see a bit of vapor being generated. I would think the water would have to boil if it was going to work at all. If you have the capability to measure amp draw, I would check the existing element and replace it if defective. You could remove the pan and take it to someone who could measure the amp draw for you.
57TinkerMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2020, 07:24 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Re: Condensate Drain Pan not working properly


It would really bother me to have to boil off the condensate from A/C units. I would work really hard to find a way to route a condensate pump tubing somewhere. Way cheaper to power. The heat generated also worsens the efficiency of the A/C units.
EdLank is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts