Carrier 48TJE004---601GA NO POWER TO UNIT OR THERMOSTAT - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 01-21-2020, 10:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Carrier 48TJE004---601GA NO POWER TO UNIT OR THERMOSTAT


I am getting no power to thermostat or rooftop unit. Thermostat is a 800435-3, tested same thermostat and another room and it works perfect. Furnace Board Status LED is off. Tried resetting breaker and still have no power. I have searched around and have seen that this is sometimes caused by a limit switch?
eknsibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2020, 11:46 PM   #2
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,445
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Re: Carrier 48TJE004---601GA NO POWER TO UNIT OR THERMOSTAT


Check the low voltage fuse.

If it's not that, will have to be checked with a meter - could be anything.

When the high limit is open with power to the unit, blower runs continuously.

Only old units completely shut low voltage power when limit opens.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2020, 04:24 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 39,241
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Re: Carrier 48TJE004---601GA NO POWER TO UNIT OR THERMOSTAT


That unit doesn't have the high limit in the circuit between the transformer and the board's power. Either the fuse on the board is blown, the transformers circuit breaker is tripped, the transformer is worn out, or you don't have line voltage to the unit.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2020, 06:51 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,836
Rewards Points: 716
Default

Re: Carrier 48TJE004---601GA NO POWER TO UNIT OR THERMOSTAT


Check high voltage to the unit. Sometimes an emergency switch gets turned off somewhere accidentally.
roughneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts