Can A In Wall Ac Condenser Coil Be Replaced? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 09-18-2015, 08:09 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default

Can a in wall ac condenser coil be replaced?


Hello all,
I Screwed Up.. should have kept my hands in my pockets, but didn't

After working on fixing a bunch of things yesterday(electrically) for a costumer, he mentioned about water build up in his wall mount AC unit…(making noise, not much, just the water, fan……) He asked so I thought I'd help out and drill a weep hole in the bottom of his thru wall AC unit.

I was off and drilled into the condenser coil.

The Unit is a discontinued Friedrich KM18J30-A.

I figured it would be about +- 600 to replace. He thought more like 900 or 1000.

I went to the local appliance dealer and they quoted a replacement unit for 1200. A KM series remote control etc .. plus it will be additional to hire someone to install as the new unit is 1.5" deeper and some work will be needed.

I ordered the unit, then called the home owner to mention what was going on and that it would take a few days for delivery.

He mentioned he thinks he can get something cheeper, more the like 900 or 1000 . He said to cancel order, and and he'll see if he can do better.

So, now after thinking about this, I want to do the right thing for him, but the unit that I broke is 17 years old..

It was working before I touched it, Understood, yet to buy a brand new unit, 1000 or 1500 dollars doesn't seem quite right (although I may just have to)..

I mean you have a 20 year old car, it goes in for repair, the mechanic breaks something. Sure he should make it right, But should he buy you a brand new 2015 automobile?

As mentioned, I'm not trying to get out of this. I broke the guys AC.. just want to do whats right and fair.


Can a condenser coil be replaced, and the unit recharged..

I see a replacement part for 530 on line. It may not be the wises thing to do on such an old unit, but if I were to offer him The $$$ for the repair, that could go to a new cheaper of more expensive unit that he can pay the balance on that he wants?

Or I could spend the 800 or 900 for a repair??

Any thoughts welcome.

Thank you
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-18-2015, 08:16 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,646
Rewards Points: 64
Default


Depending on where the hole is, it might be able to be brazed. Then recharged.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-18-2015, 08:17 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 2,446
Rewards Points: 3,256
Default


I would braze the hole up, vacuum and recharge. Hire someone to do the work if you don't have the equipment.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-18-2015, 08:42 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


thanks for the replies..

it's a 3/8 " hole..

If your looking at the unit from the outside, holes in bottom right corner underneath.
I think right in that coil area… like in the 2"-3" with part…

You think it might be brazeable… big hole??
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 09:19 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


OK, got off the phone with the owner..

I let him know about the posable brazing fix.

He paid half of inv. for svc's rendered yesterday and the other half to be paid when AC issue was straightened out.

He suggested giving that payment back and he will take care of the AC.



I agreed.

DONE.


(thank you for the advice, good to know that was a possibility)
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 10:36 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 2,446
Rewards Points: 3,256
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
thanks for the replies..

it's a 3/8 " hole..

If your looking at the unit from the outside, holes in bottom right corner underneath.
I think right in that coil area… like in the 2"-3" with part…

You think it might be brazeable… big hole??
Sounds like a reasonable outcome. Copper patch or sleeve would make it easier.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 11:14 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 39,277
Rewards Points: 122
Default


A 3/8" hole in a 3/8" coil, is not repairable.

If a replacement coil cost 530. Then by the time you add in all the other incidents and labor. Your at about 1100 bucks.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 01:36 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


yes…I agree….

Just dropped off check…

Looked up into hole I drilled…. Man !!!

JUST nicked it.

Where I planned on drilling up by the support leg, the bit rolled about and 1/8 -1/4 of an inch back toward the coil, didn't think it be a problem……..

Man !!!

OKay… time to build a bridge and jump off of it, I mean get over it..
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 02:23 PM   #9
Member
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,879
Rewards Points: 2,536
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
I was off and drilled into the condenser coil.
LOL! We do this a fair bit.

We have to put hasps and padlocks on freezers and fridges in many of our kid's shelters, and every so often you misjudge and..... PSSSSSSSST. Fortunately we don't have to pay for our screw up. Management (reluctantly) understands it's a risk.. but it's friggin embarrassing when you do it!
Bob Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 04:17 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 39,277
Rewards Points: 122
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
yes…I agree….

Just dropped off check…

What you did was a common occurrence at one time on many older units that use a sling blade on the condenser. It became enough of a problem, that many manufacturers made an over flow port. To prevent the water from running inside. Some use an open hole, some put a plastic plug in the hole that you removed only if it excessive condensation becomes a problem.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wall damage below bathroom quaker87 Plumbing 8 02-28-2013 04:56 PM
Building a half wall: 2 questions kbizzle Carpentry 7 02-19-2011 08:22 AM
Removing spine wall beko Building & Construction 12 02-02-2010 01:15 AM
Loud vibration of indoor coil in heat mode john-hvac-new HVAC 3 11-03-2009 09:27 AM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 09:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts