Can I Remove This Ductwork?! - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-16-2016, 11:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Can I remove this ductwork?!


Hey all,

I am in the process of doing a remodel and, after opening up a wall I want to remove, I see ductwork running through it. I want to eliminate this supply line as it seems to only feed one register in a small bathroom that we keep closed. I also need to relocate some returns on this wall. I will post pics in a second, they are on my phone.
cmcnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2016, 12:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 582
Default


well that in a long second...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2016, 02:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 48
Default


Couldnt upload pics from phone on app and don't want to do it from comp cuz it takes to long. Will upload later. Going to homebrew some beer.
cmcnick is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cmcnick For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (01-16-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2016, 06:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default


I would say that removing it completely isn't a great idea. Relocating, sure.

Anything is possible, but that room will no longer be conditioned. If you live in a temperate area, then no prob. If you live in the south or north like some of us, that room will be unusable for times of the year. (potentially frozen pipes where some of us live)

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2016, 09:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 48
Default


Here is a pic of the wall. The duct goes upstairs to a small hall bathroom. The register is closed year round. I would like to just eliminate it. The bay to the right has a hole in floor as it was a first floor return. The next bay to the right has a hole in the floor and ceiling as it was an upstairs return. The bay directly to the left of the opening has hot and cold water running to upstairs hall bath. I would like to open this from the plumbing over to the duct on the far right. That would mean eliminating the duct going upstairs, figuring out a way to redirect upstairs return, sealing plenum and floor where returns are currently, and cutting new hole and installing new collar in plenum for downstairs/upstairs return.

EDIT: Sorry pic is sideways.
Attached Thumbnails
Can I remove this ductwork?!-20160116_111206.jpg  

Last edited by cmcnick; 01-16-2016 at 09:08 PM. Reason: Picture is sideways
cmcnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2016, 11:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3,954
Rewards Points: 2,906
Default


What are you doing with the return that was there?
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2016, 11:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 48
Default


Moving it. Prong w new one on to compensate.
cmcnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2016, 11:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3,954
Rewards Points: 2,906
Default


Just make sure removing the duct doesn't drop you under 400 CFM/ton. Many homes suffer from oversized equipment and undersized duct.
And it's not a good idea to close off dampers. It's somewhat of an old myth that it saves money.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to roughneck For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (01-17-2016)
Old 01-17-2016, 01:50 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,793
Rewards Points: 340
Default


Do not eliminate ducts! Closed registers still flow air and if you sell the house rooms without heat may be flagged during the inspection. (depends on how crooked the inspector is, if the buyer hires an inspector with a relationship with the agent you'll get off easy)

Re-route the ducts with elbows so it goes along what's left of the wall, then box it in.

For upstairs return consider putting a new return chase somewhere else in an intact wall if it lines up with an upstairs wall.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.

Last edited by user_12345a; 01-17-2016 at 01:55 AM.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
duct , ductwork , hvac , plenum , remove


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove shower pan? timnancyk Plumbing 17 01-11-2016 04:06 PM
Best plan for replacing removed ductwork mikhailkups HVAC 8 06-24-2015 04:36 PM
need to refinish me pressure treated deck AND remove cabot SPF - NEED INPUT Kirchf Painting 0 05-27-2015 12:19 PM
Help with Insulating Ductwork in Garage premington HVAC 10 02-21-2015 10:38 AM
need help with package unit ductwork bekind42 HVAC 15 11-04-2011 04:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts