A/c Question - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 08-31-2020, 01:23 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 124
Default

Re: a/c question


roughneck this is the a coil that is in this system. i do not have a back side picture. most all the a coils i have seen are A shape i have seen some that look like an N but this is the first one i saw as a 1/2 coil! also see the what looks like rust. more likely some type of corrosion. the condenser looks great and clean and no stains on that part.

tomorrow i will take the back side off this plenum and do soap on that side and see if i can raise the coil a bit out of the condisent area. so tell me what you think please. my buddy is going to try and stop out this weekend if he can. thanks
a/c question-20160923_183429.jpg
corvairbob65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-31-2020, 01:29 PM   #32
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,459
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Re: a/c question


I can't see how the cooling could have EVER worked properly like that with almost all the air bypassing the coil!

That looks like a small slab coil.

No point of trying to fix the cooling.

Appears there's a gas furnace which is probably as old as the a/c. need to make sure that's still safe - you can see the heat exchanger from there, shine a bright light in and see if there are any cracks/holes.

Can you post a more zoomed out picture and model of the furnace? I don't see a vent pipe - maybe it's a first generation high efficiency.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.

Last edited by user_12345a; 08-31-2020 at 01:36 PM.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-31-2020, 02:52 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,845
Rewards Points: 738
Default

Re: a/c question


Old slab coil. Not really installed correctly, not going to cool very well like that.
roughneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-31-2020, 03:14 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 528
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Re: a/c question


You guys are too pessimistic. Someone took out the deluxe summer winter bypass plate from the built in slide channels.Not sure what's going on with the gap the lower left rear corner.


a/c question-plate.png
raylo32 and beenthere like this.
57TinkerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 57TinkerMan For This Useful Post:
user_12345a (08-31-2020)
Old 08-31-2020, 03:26 PM   #35
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,459
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Re: a/c question


^Great eye!

probably the 1.5 ton is on a 100k furnace or something - that coil is tiny.

maybe it's not leaking refrigerant after all.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2020, 04:38 PM   #36
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 39,271
Rewards Points: 110
Default

Re: a/c question


Quote:
Originally Posted by 57TinkerMan View Post
You guys are too pessimistic. Someone took out the deluxe summer winter bypass plate from the built in slide channels.Not sure what's going on with the gap the lower left rear corner.


Attachment 613635



Yep, there use to be a plate that was inserted in summer, and removed in winter.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2020, 08:25 PM   #37
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 647
Rewards Points: 1,024
Default

Re: a/c question


It's called a "slab coil". They were used in older systems 20-30 years ago. More efficient designs are N or A coils which manufacturers have moved to in order to squeeze a little more SEER for their advertising!
sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 10:36 AM   #38
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 2,561
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Re: a/c question


What a bizarre installation.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 12:04 PM   #39
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,459
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Re: a/c question


big furnace (4 burner, 80 to 100k btu), tiny a/c coil and they did what they had to to ensure proper airflow in heating mode.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 01:07 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 528
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Re: a/c question


If there actually was a blank off plate I'm wondering if it fell into the furnace. Easy enough to take a peek while it's open.
DIYOkie likes this.
57TinkerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 02:30 PM   #41
San Antonio Area
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 40
Default

Re: a/c question


Probably can make one from some sheet metal, Lowes/Home Depot
Gary_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 01:28 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: a/c question


Quote:
Originally Posted by corvairbob65 View Post
i put a window unit in my girls house to help cool it during the heat last week. i have been in a discussion over fixing her central system here. she is not in favor of the unit setting in the window for some reason. so she has been looking at and talking to co-workers and they are talking about one of those units that you bolt to the wall and run the lines thru the wall and there is a unit just outside the wall that sets on the ground or the deck or a table and plugs into any outside outlet you have close by.

so what are those and are they any good? thanks for any ideas on these
I am just a diy'er have installed 3 - 2 in my office 18000 btu and one in a friends house 24000 btu. All heat pumps the last 2 work down to 17 degrees F. All 3 have never had a problem, I replaced the one in my office because it was an older one more than 15 years old and the fan was loud. The new one is almost inappreciable. They come pre charged and normally with a line set. You dont need anything to install them except some time and the tools to get the lines through the wall and some common sense. The most expensive was the 24000 btu a Pioneer paid $1600 with line set. I did pull a vacuum for my own piece of mind. I used a cheap $25 vacuum venturri from Harbor Freight that make vacuum from an air compressor. The first one I didn't. I also did run 220v from my fuse box. The 24000btu one I put in friends house that had an open ceiling and it cools and heats her whole house. Its been in for about 7 years.
DIYOkie likes this.
larrylwill12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 07:48 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Dallas / Ft Worth
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 370
Default

Re: a/c question


Quote:
Originally Posted by corvairbob65 View Post
i put a window unit in my girls house to help cool it during the heat last week. i have been in a discussion over fixing her central system here. she is not in favor of the unit setting in the window for some reason. so she has been looking at and talking to co-workers and they are talking about one of those units that you bolt to the wall and run the lines thru the wall and there is a unit just outside the wall that sets on the ground or the deck or a table and plugs into any outside outlet you have close by.

so what are those and are they any good? thanks for any ideas on these
Where do you live?

I live in Dallas, and although it is still warm here (90's) most of the harsh 100's with high humidity are behind us.

Is it possible that she can get by without the AC for a few more weeks?
In my area, they advertise 'special winter deals' on new AC units and whatever you decide to do, it might be cheaper to do it in the winter.

Just an idea.......
spending the extra bucks
DallasCowboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 09:29 PM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,845
Rewards Points: 738
Default

Re: a/c question


Quote:
Originally Posted by larrylwill12 View Post
I am just a diy'er have installed 3 - 2 in my office 18000 btu and one in a friends house 24000 btu. All heat pumps the last 2 work down to 17 degrees F. All 3 have never had a problem, I replaced the one in my office because it was an older one more than 15 years old and the fan was loud. The new one is almost inappreciable. They come pre charged and normally with a line set. You dont need anything to install them except some time and the tools to get the lines through the wall and some common sense. The most expensive was the 24000 btu a Pioneer paid $1600 with line set. I did pull a vacuum for my own piece of mind. I used a cheap $25 vacuum venturri from Harbor Freight that make vacuum from an air compressor. The first one I didn't. I also did run 220v from my fuse box. The 24000btu one I put in friends house that had an open ceiling and it cools and heats her whole house. Its been in for about 7 years.
The one that you didnít pull a vacuum on, did it have quick connect fittings with precharged linesets?
Otherwise, if you left noncondensables in the system, it will have a negative impact on performance and longevity.
roughneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 04:35 PM   #45
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Re: a/c question


Rather unreliable and old construction. How did it happen at all?
ScottPreot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts