Asking An HVAC Consultant For Their Load Calculation Of My Home - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree6Likes

Old 07-03-2018, 10:47 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 358

Asking an HVAC consultant for their load calculation of my home

This is my first time that I have to work with HVAC consultants to have them do an estimate to install a brand new HVAC system for my home. So I did a bunch of research online. All articles/websites that I've looked over thus far indicate that the best type of estimate work is the one where the consultant measure the load capacity of the home, then select the correct system from there.

A few articles/websites suggest that the customer should ask for the load calculation even if they don't understand it before signing/committing to the work contract. Seeing the load calculation ensure that the consultant actually made those suggestions based on some sort of number instead of pull stuff out of thin air that will cost as much as possible.

- So is the customer asking for the load calculation something that is widely accepted by the industry?

- And if a consultant or the hvac company refuse to share their load calculation, should I just walk away?

Thanks.
012abc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-03-2018, 11:15 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 538

Re: Asking an HVAC consultant for their load calculation of my home

I think as long as you donít mind paying for his time to do the load Calc you should be fine and thatís a reasonable request

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
BayouRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-04-2018, 07:46 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 48

Here is our policy on load calcs:

1. It's free with a signed contract and you can have it.
2. We will sell it to you for about $300