Add Register To Existing Duct - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-25-2020, 09:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

add register to existing duct


Hi folks,

We have an interior wall duct that goes through the kitchen wall and up to the attic to feed the upstairs Cape Code bdrm. We just had a minisplit installed up there, so we don't need the (sad, pretty much useless) duct up there any longer.

Instead, we want to open that duct up into the kitchen. So...remove a bit of drywall, cut a hole in the duct to we can get the air into the kitchen. I was envisioning an elbow similar to this:

Apparently I need to post at least one post before I can include links. I'm sure we all know what an elbow looks like though

to block the airflow upstairs and redirect into the kitchen.

Are we on the right track?? If so, what is the best way to attach that elbow? Ideally, I assume the elbow should slide OVER the duct to keep the air in. Not sure that's doable for this "retrofit". (Doing homework before opening walls.)

Thoughts, suggestions and experience welcomed please! Thank you!

Tara
Taf0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-25-2020, 09:32 AM   #2
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 26,013
Rewards Points: 818
Blog Entries: 41
Default

Re: add register to existing duct


Few more posts before you can post pictures. But, no reason you cannot re-route the air as long at the return side of the equation is addressed too.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-25-2020, 09:33 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 4,580
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: add register to existing duct


Might you need that duct for heat in the winter?


Most in wall ducts are rectangles and are barely 1/2" behind the drywall. Duct takeoffs That connect to a trunk install with bendable tabs that are inserted into a cut hole.


Now what you want to do, even if you want the heat up in the winter is possible but more information is required probably including an exploratory hole in the wall. You may need to fabricate the takeoff from sheet metal but that isn't as hard as it sounds.


The hardest part of the job will getting a clean cut for the adaption.
__________________
Colbyt
Retired drapery and home furnishings installer.
Fact: World-wide 96.5% of Covid-19 victims fully recover
Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-25-2020, 10:15 AM   #4
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 642
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

Re: add register to existing duct


Assuming the mini-split is a heat pump, sure, that would work.
sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts