4 Ton Coil With 3.5 Ton Compressor - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

View Poll Results: Should I get a 4ton coil to match with 3.5 ton compressor
Yes 0 0%
No 0 0%
Voters: 0. This poll is closed

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-14-2020, 03:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

4 ton coil with 3.5 ton compressor


Is it advisable to install a 4 ton coil with a 3.5 ton compressor? Would like to have pros and cons.
Sunil is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2020, 03:47 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 39,244
Rewards Points: 60
Default

Re: 4 ton coil with 3.5 ton compressor


Usually gets higher efficiency.


May get a slightly higher capacity.


Might not get as much moisture removal.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2020, 04:55 PM   #3
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,445
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Re: 4 ton coil with 3.5 ton compressor


Coil tonnages are nominal and usually for 13 seer matches.

Make sure the coil being used is an ahri approved match to the condenser.
__________________
I am not in the business of any trade I give advice on. I have non-professional hvac experience + good knowledge of theory. Attempt repairs at your own risk. Never jump out safeties - especially pressure switches - on a furnace for testing with fuel supply on; use a meter. Do not troubleshoot with live line voltage present unless there's no alternative.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2020, 06:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 3,849
Rewards Points: 4,172
Default

Re: 4 ton coil with 3.5 ton compressor


Hmm....you may have to speed up the blower.
And if this makes the unit oversized then you will most likely have excess humidity since the run times will (probably) be shorter.
But will it work......most likely.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 08:37 PM   #5
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 645
Rewards Points: 1,020
Default

Re: 4 ton coil with 3.5 ton compressor


Oversizing the coil 1/2 ton will get you a little more efficiency at the expense of dehumidification. Depends what's more important to you
sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts