This Is A 2 Ton Condenser Right? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 06-05-2020, 06:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 396
Rewards Points: 792
Default

This is a 2 ton condenser right?


model #: 2TWB0042A1000AA
form8829 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2020, 06:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,858
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


3.5 ton
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2020, 10:10 PM   #3
dj3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: CA
Posts: 1,574
Rewards Points: 306
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


You see the number 42 in the model number?
Divide it by 12 to get 3.5 ton.
LS-6 likes this.
dj3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2020, 08:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 396
Rewards Points: 792
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dj3 View Post
You see the number 42 in the model number?
Divide it by 12 to get 3.5 ton.
dj3,

so, you just get the 2 digit number in the middle and divide it by 12? is that the standard way to do it for every hvac system?
form8829 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 09:49 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,858
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


There is 12,000 BTU per ton of cooling.
The 2 or 3 digit number buried in the model number is the total BTU of the condenser, in most cases.

12 is 1 ton
24 is 2 ton
30 is 2.5 ton
36 is 3 ton

And so on.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 10:15 PM   #6
dj3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: CA
Posts: 1,574
Rewards Points: 306
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by form8829 View Post
dj3,

so, you just get the 2 digit number in the middle and divide it by 12? is that the standard way to do it for every hvac system?
Yes, now that you know this, you can tell how many tons in every unit, unless of course the numbers have faded.
dj3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:07 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,469
Rewards Points: 244
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


Technically the tonnage is based on the compressor and you can have a 22-23,00 BTU compressor in a 2 ton unit but that is just info a few techs know.

PLUS compressors are rated in HP not BTU's.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:12 PM   #8
DIY Veteran
 
LS-6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Hellinois
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


I just had a 3 ton unit installed in my home and the number was 36, like others said it's divisible by 12 for 36,000 BTU's.
My old unit that leaked out the freon through the A coil I think was 2.5 ton, but it was 36 years old.
This 3 ton unit works great and doesn't run as much as the 2.5 ton unit. Better to go with a tad more than you need for those 100+ degree days.

Last edited by LS-6; 06-07-2020 at 12:15 PM.
LS-6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:26 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 22,469
Rewards Points: 244
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


The installer should have done a heat load calc and sized it according to your house and insulation type etc.

Your old unit had a worn compressor and that is why it ran longer. It may have been a 3 ton if you don't know the model # so don't worry.

If you are in a very humid area a smaller unit runs longer and de-humidiifes better. Extra capacity in Arizona and Texas is a good idea IMO.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:29 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,858
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LS-6 View Post
I just had a 3 ton unit installed in my home and the number was 36, like others said it's divisible by 12 for 36,000 BTU's.
My old unit that leaked out the freon through the A coil I think was 2.5 ton, but it was 36 years old.
This 3 ton unit works great and doesn't run as much as the 2.5 ton unit. Better to go with a tad more than you need for those 100+ degree days.
Bigger is not better when it comes to hvac. Advising to blindly put in a larger unit isnít wise, as your new 3 ton unit could get connected to undersized duct and never put out 3 tons.
You want the unit to run, itís most efficient that way.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:36 PM   #11
DIY Veteran
 
LS-6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Hellinois
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by roughneck View Post
Bigger is not better when it comes to hvac. Advising to blindly put in a larger unit isn’t wise, as your new 3 ton unit could get connected to undersized duct and never put out 3 tons.
You want the unit to run, it’s most efficient that way.
My 3 ton unit is suited for the 1900 square feet of my home and so is the duct work. 2.5 ton is not quite enough.

It also depends on how well one insulates the cold line from the unit to the A coil. I noticed it's not insulated inside the unit but I insulated it with 1/2" ID foam which is 11/16" ID vs the 3/4" which is 7/8" ID and too lose of a fit. Then I wrapped the insulation with 2" vinyl electrical tape. You get a nice tight fit this way for the 3/4" copper tube. We do this at work for our liquid nitrogen lines and it works very well. Not many people know this little trick.

Last edited by LS-6; 06-07-2020 at 12:51 PM.
LS-6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:47 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,858
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LS-6 View Post
My 3 ton unit is suited for the 1900 square feet of my home and so is the duct work. 2.5 ton is not quite enough.
Equipment isnít sized via square footage
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:50 PM   #13
DIY Veteran
 
LS-6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Hellinois
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by roughneck View Post
Equipment isnít sized via square footage
That's not what my friends tell me that do this for a living.
Also I edited my post and added a useful trick of the trade.
LS-6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:55 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,858
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LS-6 View Post
That's not what my friends tell me that do this for a living.
Also I edited my post and added a useful trick of the trade.
Unfortunately they are misled. Experience sometimes means youíve been doing things wrong a long time.
The suction line is supposed to be insulated. But itís not a trick of the trade in how your referring it to.
roughneck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 01:03 PM   #15
DIY Veteran
 
LS-6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Hellinois
Posts: 531
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Re: This is a 2 ton condenser right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by roughneck View Post
Unfortunately they are misled. Experience sometimes means youíve been doing things wrong a long time.
The suction line is supposed to be insulated. But itís not a trick of the trade in how your referring it to.
Perhaps you can enlighten me on how to do it right now that it's done and works very well...
LS-6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts