Satellite Dish Aiming - Home Automation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Automation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By adamz
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 04-20-2020, 07:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Satellite dish aiming


Hello everyone,

Anyone with Xplornet satellite internet?

My dish is currently aimed at Viasat 1, can I aim it to Viasat2 myself ?

Would my service improve ?

Cheers
Pauly1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2020, 08:27 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 4,388
Rewards Points: 8,695
Default

Re: Satellite dish aiming


If your receiver is compatible with sat, you are smart enough to read and follow directions and you are authorized to use that sat I can't think of any reason why not. I installed my own Dish net without problems.
__________________
Colbyt
Retired drapery and home furnishings installer.
Fact: World-wide 96.5% of Covid-19 victims fully recover
Colbyt is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2020, 09:17 AM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,343
Rewards Points: 31,988
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Satellite dish aiming


Do you have any way to check the satellite signal as you move it? On my Bell sat the receiver has a built in aiming signal tester. I don't know if Explorenet has that, but without it I would not touch the dish.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2020, 09:30 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 5,953
Rewards Points: 10,820
Default

Re: Satellite dish aiming


I have never heard of Xplorenet, so I can't comment on them specifically.

I have successfully aimed a satellite receiver. It can be frustrating - depends on the system. On the ones I have used, when in "aiming mode", receiver beeps faster as signal strength increases. But I remember one time, receiver would update so slowly that I probably scanned the dish past the satellite a dozen times before I found it.

On Xplorenet, you might be able to find more knowledgeable replies from this forum:
https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/
SPS-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2020, 09:35 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Satellite dish aiming


I have an app on my phone called Dish Align. It has viasat 1 but not 2 on it.


Retired guy from Southern Manitoba, Canada.
660catman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2020, 10:47 AM   #6
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,343
Rewards Points: 31,988
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Satellite dish aiming


The app on your phone does not connect to the dish to know if it 'hitting' the satellite. It is good to get you in the general direction but you still need a signal strength monitor connection to know if it is exact.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2020, 10:54 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Satellite dish aiming


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The app on your phone does not connect to the dish to know if it 'hitting' the satellite. It is good to get you in the general direction but you still need a signal strength monitor connection to know if it is exact.

I realize that but yes, itís a start. Both Shaw and Bell have the monitors on tv screen.


Retired guy from Southern Manitoba, Canada.
660catman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2020, 05:51 PM   #8
adam
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 246
Default

Re: Satellite dish aiming


Just a suggestion, but before you move the dish, mark (with a permanent marker) it's current elevation and azimuth just in case you want to move it back.
mark sr likes this.
adamz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 07:22 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Re: Satellite dish aiming


I downloaded an app called MITe. I will get some numbers with the app first before attempting.
Pauly1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts