Sump Pump/ French Drain Advice - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-21-2015, 04:01 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 106
Question

Sump Pump/ French Drain Advice

Hello all. I have been researching for the last two weeks about how to best keep water from pooling in my crawl space after a big rain. I live in Little Rock Arkansas and this year we have gotten more rain then usua. In fact its been about 16 years since we had this much rain. I bought this house in January and it was built in the '60's. Not sure how long this water has been an issue, but I would assume for awhile.

After all this research I have learned I know nothing about french drains, and I use to install them for a living. I need some advice and someone to say Im either crazy or I am heading in the right direction. Please help.

So my house sits on a slope, slope is from west to east with a pretty decent grade. The west side of my house is built on a pad, while the east side is on pier and beam. I feel that the water is going under the slab and then arriving in my crawl space where I pump out with a sump pump when it rains. When it is not raining there is no standing or pooling water in the crawl space.