Sprinkler Zone 3 Only Works Manually With Another Zone On - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-17-2018, 10:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Sprinkler Zone 3 only works manually with another zone on


I have an 8 zone Hunter Pro C system that is several years old. This year Zone 3 stopped working when enabled through the controller, and does not work even if I manually enagage the solenoid. There is no water flowing at all when I remove the top of the valve box.

If I enable Zone 2 or Zone 1, which is further down the water line, then Zone 3 will work if manually engaged.

Replacing the solenoid and top of valve box did not help at all. I also verified the solenoid is getting power, not that it really matters for manual engagement.

Does anyone have an idea what I can try next?
joshbarber82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2018, 10:57 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,310
Rewards Points: 2,186
Default

Re: Sprinkler Zone 3 only works manually with another zone on


Welcome to the forums josh.

Possibly loose, or corroded wire somewhere causing the issue. I've seen bees and mud daubers cause problems. Check all wire connections. Just a suggestion.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2018, 02:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,288
Rewards Points: 7,496
Default

Re: Sprinkler Zone 3 only works manually with another zone on


What model of valves do you have? Zones 1,2,3 valves are on the same manifold?
SPS-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2018, 07:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,859
Rewards Points: 188
Default

Re: Sprinkler Zone 3 only works manually with another zone on


Do you have a master valve set up on the controller? That would explain why zone 3 has water when zone 1/2 are on.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boiler heating zone not working properly ssevern HVAC 5 12-19-2009 06:05 PM
Adding new zone makapacs HVAC 0 11-26-2009 12:35 PM
Sprinkler control wiring re-connect (diagram) ScottR Plumbing 4 06-25-2009 08:51 PM
need some help sorting out my new heating zone please wombosi Plumbing 3 04-23-2009 04:54 PM
help with third heat zone i just put in... wombosi HVAC 6 04-21-2009 12:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts