Small Retaining Wall Ideas For Colorado - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Msradell

Old 08-06-2017, 10:12 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 8

Small Retaining Wall Ideas for Colorado

Hello All,

Newbie here, not only to the site but also to the USA. Now due to being new in the USA and have just purchased a home in Colorado. I have a few questions regarding my landscaping for my backyard.

My First question is going to be about a retaining wall ( raised garden bed ) I want to build on the side of my House. It is about 32' Long and will start at a height of 1' on one end and be about 3' high at the other end. As my land slopes down

I have limited space to my fence line so I am looking for a wall idea that has a small Width (Something around 4") Also looking at doing it DIY so nothing too complicated. As I am in Colorado I am Concerned about drainage and frost line, (This is something I haven't dealt with before as I am from Australia)

I have looked at the Following Ideas.
  • Cinder Block Wall
    Concern here is having to do a footing and make it below the frost line
  • Stacking Block Wall
    Would be the easiest but the width of the blocks at around 6-8" make it almost impossible to use as my fence line will be close to my retaining wall at one end
  • Wood Retaining Wall
    Small Width but concerned about how long this would last in Colorado and also about how deep it would need to be regarding frost line
  • Concrete Poured Wall
    Lots of work and forming, I think would be expensive and also turn out not as good as would like it to be