New First Homeowner. No Grass In Yard,we Gotta Fix That,but How? - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes

Old 02-14-2017, 06:04 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 4

New First homeowner. No grass in yard,we gotta fix that,but how?

Im 27,and new to owning my own home. Problem is previous owner did NOTHING to the yard. its mixed with red dirt,sand and just nothing. Now me,i know nothing about building a new yard. I think ok well "you throw the seed out,and in a few weeks boom! a grassy yard" I know there must be more then this. Im a mechanic,not a lawn care guru.

I had to have several LARGE trees removed recently,so most of the land has been ran over with bobcats,loaders etc. so the ground is been fairly disturbed/grounded up then smoothed back out fairly flat. About 3000ish sq ft.

I ordered some kentucky 31 grass seed. Why? Dont know. Some old guy that owns a lawn company told me to do so. So i did. Before i sow this yard with seed,what is the basics that i need to know? Ive got mostly full sun if that matters. I was looking at that grass fertilizer you screw onto a garden hose and spray it. Yay? nay? Thanks SO much!
chris015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-14-2017, 06:16 PM   #2
Property Mgt/Maint

Rewards Points: 6,522

Re: New First homeowner. No grass in yard,we gotta fix that,but how?

Before you drop a single seed, make sure your soil is graded down and slopes away from your house and any other structures.
I have no green thumb, but, plant seed, cover with straw, water regularly for the first 2 weeks always works for me.

Others will want to know where you intend to plant this Kentucky 31 grass. Geographical location?
Yodaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-14-2017, 06:45 PM   #3