Adding A New Valvebox Without A New Line - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-31-2017, 03:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Adding a new Valvebox without a new line


imgur.com/a/5tEau

really hoping i can do what is in the diagram but i suspect it wont work and will result in all valves in box 2 being turned on (which is what i don't want). Is there not an affordable device or even a new timer that can do what i'm trying to achieve?

I would think that creating variable resistance on the timer end of the shared conductor would allow a single conductor to be split at the box end to open an shut individual water valves (assuming i the colors are matched up end to end). There has to be a device , other then the doubler , that can do this for multiple connections
weekendscrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2017, 03:58 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Re: Adding a new Valvebox without a new line


Quote:
Originally Posted by weekendscrub View Post
imgur.com/a/5tEau

really hoping i can do what is in the diagram but i suspect it wont work and will result in all valves in box 2 being turned on (which is what i don't want). Is there not an affordable device or even a new timer that can do what i'm trying to achieve?

I would think that creating variable resistance on the timer end of the shared conductor would allow a single conductor to be split at the box end to open an shut individual water valves (assuming i the colors are matched up end to end). There has to be a device , other then the doubler , that can do this for multiple connections
here is the actual diagram, sorry about that

weekendscrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2017, 04:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Re: Adding a new Valvebox without a new line


[QUOTE=weekendscrub;4298729]here is the actual diagram, sorry about that

weekendscrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2017, 08:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,386
Rewards Points: 17,912
Default

Re: Adding a new Valvebox without a new line


Let us in one what it is your really trying to do.
The more info the better replys you'll get.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 09:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 2,762
Rewards Points: 818
Default

Re: Adding a new Valvebox without a new line


There is nothing available that I know of they can do what you are trying to do. Every valve box is going to need a common (which can be shared) and every valve was going to need a separate wire coming from the controller to it to turn it on and off. What you want to do with something called multiplexing and it's done in high-end vehicles and industrial applications but it's very expensive and technology has not filtered down to systems such as this.
__________________
Written using Dragon Naturally Speaking
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 06:57 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Re: Adding a new Valvebox without a new line


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Let us in one what it is your really trying to do.
The more info the better replys you'll get.
Thanks Joecaption. Basically just trying to use an existing sprinkler line instead of laying a new one
weekendscrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 06:59 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Re: Adding a new Valvebox without a new line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Msradell View Post
There is nothing available that I know of they can do what you are trying to do. Every valve box is going to need a common (which can be shared) and every valve was going to need a separate wire coming from the controller to it to turn it on and off. What you want to do with something called multiplexing and it's done in high-end vehicles and industrial applications but it's very expensive and technology has not filtered down to systems such as this.
Thanks msradell. That is helpful. you are keyed in on what i'm looking to do but I'm bummed that it is expensive ! thanks again
weekendscrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 08:11 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Re: Adding a new Valvebox without a new line


Quote:
Originally Posted by weekendscrub View Post
Thanks msradell. That is helpful. you are keyed in on what i'm looking to do but I'm bummed that it is expensive ! thanks again
msradell - after searching for 'multiplexing Sprinkler' i found this link with someone trying do do exactly what i'm trying to do

https://electronics.stackexchange.co...d-multiplexing but it is too bad the product they mention is no longer available!
weekendscrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 10:59 PM   #9
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 2,762
Rewards Points: 818
Default

Re: Adding a new Valvebox without a new line


Doing a little further research it does look like RainBird makes a 2 wire system with smart modules. Here is a link to it. http://www.rainbird.com/landscape/pr...rs/ESP-LXD.htm

Don't know what the pricing is, I'm sure it's quite high but...
__________________
Written using Dragon Naturally Speaking
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to replace your clothes line Fantastic Remodeling 5 08-17-2013 09:17 AM
Main water line, meter to house ckc Plumbing 15 09-28-2012 09:15 PM
Adding drain line in basement floor - size and trap? theedudenator Plumbing 0 07-11-2011 09:22 PM
Adding basement supply's to trunk line emarlin HVAC 12 04-20-2010 11:42 AM
Need to run gas line to Tankless Water Heater. anonymouscuban Plumbing 2 04-16-2010 02:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts