Wiring Induction Cooktop - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-18-2016, 05:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Wiring induction cooktop


I'm installing a Kitchenaid induction cooktop. The existing power line is a 4 wire line. The cooktop has a 3 wire line. The instructions say to cap the neutral line and connect red to red, black to black, and bare to bare. I did that but have no power to the cooktop. So I connected the neutral to both reds and got power but got an error code saying the power voltage is too high or too low. What should I do?
Snel182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2016, 06:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2,286
Rewards Points: 532
Default

Re: Wiring induction cooktop


Sounds like you need a meter. Hook the black and red from the stove to the two wires that measure 240 volts. I would not guess or you may be buying a new cooktop. Hook the ground wire to ground. I'd like to have one of those induction cooktops.
BayouRunner is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2016, 06:44 PM   #3
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 5,832
Rewards Points: 5,246
Default

Re: Wiring induction cooktop


Sounds like you have a 240V only cooktop. You need to verify, using a multimeter, which of the wires are the two hots. Each incoming hot will be 120V to ground, and the correct wires will be 240V wire to wire. You cannot depend on the color of the wires to tell you definitively which ones are the hots. If you do not have a multimeter, find a neighbor who has one and knows how to use it, and get them to help you with the connections. Start by verifying correct voltage on each wire, and make sure the size of wire is correct for your cooktop. The cooktop manual should have a wiring diagram with instructions.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Cooktop with separate Oven ddsrph Electrical 6 06-12-2015 08:15 PM
Electric Cooktop too slow to heat coachgns Appliances 1 02-05-2011 03:45 PM
Induction Cooktop 3 wire to 4 wire ereilly Electrical 11 12-28-2010 08:06 AM
Wiring Cooktop and Under Counter Oven Preach_2 Electrical 18 03-19-2009 04:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts