Mounting Microwave - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-24-2014, 10:27 PM   #1
Member
 
stevergee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 73
Default

Mounting microwave


This is going to be my first attempt installing a micro wave convection oven.

As far as the structural support aspect of this goes - do I mount it both from cabinet overhead and to the wall or just
One or the other?

I have not sat down and read the instructions I was hoping somebody on here could at least speak to this that has done this before
Thanks!
stevergee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2014, 10:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 582
Default


oven should come with metal mounting plate for wall..and you also drill holes in cabinet to bolt microwave to bottom of cabinet,,,so you anchor to both wall and cabinet..
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2014, 10:53 PM   #3
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 951
Default


The weight is held mainly by the wall bracket, with bolts through the cabinet for support. The bracket usually includes wood screws to anchor into the studs, and toggle bolts as well. You'll want a second person to help hang the microwave on the bracket and hold it in place to install the top bolts. I've done it alone and it's nowhere near as easy.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to McSteve For This Useful Post:
stevergee (11-25-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2014, 11:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 30
Default


Just did this two days ago. Just take your time, if you get the templates layed out right hanging it will be the easy part. I hung by myself just got the wife to fish the cord through the bottom of the cabinet
Premium08 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Premium08 For This Useful Post:
stevergee (11-25-2014)
Old 11-25-2014, 06:14 AM   #5
Member
 
stevergee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 73
Default


I will sit down and start figuring out exactly how to do the wall bracket

The only issue is I only have one stud to screw into

The unit is only 30 inches wide I think and the wall studs are 16 plus inches apart
I will have more side mounting locations later after I finish the pieces on the sides
stevergee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 06:15 AM   #6
Member
 
stevergee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 73
Default


stevergee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 06:43 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 30
Default


Check your studs again, i would imagine theres two studs in that space if they are 16in apart. But one screw in a stud and two toggle bolts would be plenty strong.
Premium08 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Premium08 For This Useful Post:
stevergee (11-25-2014)
Old 11-25-2014, 09:43 AM   #8
Member
 
stevergee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 73
Default


Also another question
The drawing show that the bottom of the microwave should start at 5 inches above the top ledge of the back stove console

That would be then about 15 inches above the burning grid
Is that correct? Just seems like it would be too close to the stove top
stevergee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 10:20 AM   #9
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 737
Rewards Points: 254
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Premium08 View Post
Check your studs again, i would imagine theres two studs in that space if they are 16in apart. But one screw in a stud and two toggle bolts would be plenty strong.
+1 What he said.

I had to do the same thing.
MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 10:47 AM   #10
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 737
Rewards Points: 254
Default


For the past several years, I have been using these drywall anchors. They are easy to install and work great. I bought them at Lowe's but I couldn't find them on their website. (stupid search engine).
http://www.amazon.com/CRL-Snaptoggle.../dp/B002DVL8H8

Easy to install. Simply drill a 1/2 inch hole in the drywall, insert the toggle portion and push the face until it fits snugly in the hole. Then break off the remaining two pieces of plastic. That's it. Position your bracket over the hole and run the bolt in.


By the way, our microwave installed with the same basic measurements as you have stated...about 15 - 16 inches above the stove. Never had any problems in all the years we have had it there. See pic below.

Good luck.
Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Mounting microwave-2014-04-24-15.20.15.jpg   Mounting microwave-2014-04-24-15.20.25.jpg  
MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MT Stringer For This Useful Post:
stevergee (11-25-2014)
Old 11-25-2014, 11:12 AM   #11
Member
 
stevergee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 73
Default


Nice!
You built that kitchen?
stevergee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 03:05 PM   #12
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 737
Rewards Points: 254
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by stevergee View Post
Nice!
You built that kitchen?
No sir. That is what I took out...circa 1983. I am fixin' to post some pics of the new look shortly.
MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 03:52 PM   #13
Member
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 737
Rewards Points: 254
Default


Here you go, Steve.

http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/our-k...emodel-210034/
MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MT Stringer For This Useful Post:
stevergee (11-25-2014)
Old 11-25-2014, 06:52 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4,525
Rewards Points: 4,204
Default


How is your cabinet anchored.?

Usually the cabinet is between two larger cabinets, You may need to support the front of the cabinet to keep it from sagging downward.
ron45 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ron45 For This Useful Post:
stevergee (11-25-2014)
Old 11-25-2014, 07:13 PM   #15
Member
 
stevergee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 73
Default


Right now it is only anchored by 2 lag screws going the stud
However there will be matching custom sections that will go up and the cabinet Will be supported by those also
stevergee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting an over the range microwave Illini40 General DIY Discussions 0 05-09-2013 03:17 PM
Mounting an under cabinet microwave Thankis81 Electrical 9 08-22-2011 08:37 PM
Mounting a Over-the-range Microwave emperor_black Appliances 13 09-02-2009 06:00 PM
Microwave ground prong sparks/melts upon plugging it in microwaveman Electrical 30 05-10-2009 10:30 PM
OTR Microwave installation bfarber Appliances 3 12-22-2008 07:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts