Dealing With Mold In Rotten Studs. - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By ZZZZZ
  • 1 Post By SPG43
  • 2 Post By SPG43

Old 10-29-2016, 08:57 AM   #1

dealing with mold in rotten studs.

I have recently been trying to fix up a home I am living in but I keep running into the same problem filth mold and rotten studs. I know I might sound down asking this but what is the best way of going about fixing this issue when I run into it and this current one. Should I be concerned for my health and if so what precautions should I take I'm very new to dealing with sutch a mess.also the house has asbestos and lead paint i beleave.
Attached Thumbnails
dealing with mold in rotten studs.-20161029_072502_1477749323225.jpg  
padraic210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-29-2016, 09:03 AM   #2
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 4,260

Re: dealing with mold in rotten studs.

Use proper PPE (Personal Protective Equipment - i.e. dust masks) and I would treat the areas in question as you open them up for demo. Then remove them a day later.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-29-2016, 09:08 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,158

If you've got mold, lead paint, and especially asbestos, there are definite hazards to your health.

Asbestos needs to be removed by a professional company. It's not a DIY job.

In many jurisdictions, if asbestos is discovered during a remodel, you are required to report it to the health dept and they may seal off the house until it is remediated.
Windows on Wash likes this.

Last edited by ZZZZZ; 10-29-2016 at 09:25 AM.
ZZZZZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-29-2016, 09:56 AM   #4
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 4,260

Quote: